1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Borked my Nook. Solved.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DoAndroidDream?, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. DoAndroidDream?

    DoAndroidDream? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    229
    14
    38
    Massachusetts
    I successfully rooted my nook color following the link here to theunlockr. After I got that working pretty well I decided to go for a rom and once again followed the link to the unlockr. From what I had read I decided I wanted to use the Cyanogenmod 7 rom so I grabbed that from their site.

    Well I followed the direction at theunlocker rather than at the CM7 site and I did not do any deleting before installing. Now all my nook does is go into the bright colorful Android logo guy at the beginning and does not go past that. I have tried to hold the "n" button and the power button to do a rest but that is not doing anything.

    Any help is appreciated. I should not have tried this. I have never rooted my Droid because I was scared of borking it. I hope this is fixable somehow.
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    DoAndroidDream? likes this.
  3. DoAndroidDream?

    DoAndroidDream? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    229
    14
    38
    Massachusetts
    I am trying to use the Clockwork files with WinImage and it is telling me the media is write protected. :(

    Edit: Because I had the lock tab slid over. Dumb me.
     
  4. DoAndroidDream?

    DoAndroidDream? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    229
    14
    38
    Massachusetts
    Ok on my SD card there is a Boot img in the backup folder of the clockworkmod folder. When I try to use that with WinImage I still get a media is write protected message. :|
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    If you already have a recovery sd, all you need to do is remove the CM7 rom and add the Philemod rom. (or just add the Philemod rom if you have room.)
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Did you get unborked? :D
     
  7. DoAndroidDream?

    DoAndroidDream? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    229
    14
    38
    Massachusetts
    No.

    I am trying to follow the steps listed here...

    How To: Restore the Nook Color to Stock | TheUnlockr

    When I get to the third section and I start up my Nook it is not going into recovery. It is still starting up the same. It says the "touch reading whatever" line then in one corner it says "Android_" for a couple seconds and the the android guy comes on screen, gets colored in, the blue light shines around him, and nothing...

    And now the thing has a dead pixel right in the middle of the screen. :|

    I was hoping that guide was going to work.

    When I plug my nook into my computer it doesnt I cannot navigate to the nook folders, they just do not show up.
     
  8. DoAndroidDream?

    DoAndroidDream? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    229
    14
    38
    Massachusetts
    I got it. :D

    I was succumbing to panic.

    My micro SD card was the problem. I switched to a different one and it formatted to the clockworkmod correctly.

    Thanks for the help and advice dude.

    I guess I'll take this one back in the morning to swap for one without a dead pixel. It is just too annoying to me.

    After I get a new one I can start all over again. :D
     
  9. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Glad you figured it out. :D
     
  10. DoAndroidDream?

    DoAndroidDream? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    229
    14
    38
    Massachusetts
    I'll try that phiremod rom you linked too.
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I chose it b/c it includes the Google apps and overclock kernel, so all-in-one.
     
  12. DoAndroidDream?

    DoAndroidDream? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    229
    14
    38
    Massachusetts
    Well I am rooted and got Launcher Pro on there messing around. Very fiddly for me yet. I'll probably mess with it for a few days before I put a rom on it. Why can't there just be normal Droid buttons...

    I'd really like to get bluetooth going with a Wiimote for emulators.
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Does BT even work?

    I wish I had GPS, but don't want to tether to my phone to do it.

    The missing buttons are the only downside of the Nook, IMO.
     
  14. DoAndroidDream?

    DoAndroidDream? Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    229
    14
    38
    Massachusetts
    I don't care about GPS at all really. I would never use it on a tablet. I use it on my phone when I need directions in my car, I cannot imagine whipping out the tablet for that.

    I read that BT is indeed working and there is a video on youtube of someone using a Wiimote to play games on a NES emulator. Hopefully I get to that point eventually.

    Maybe I'll break down and root my Droid if all keeps going well with the Nook. :D
     
  15. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I've installed 30+ roms on my X and have about 15 of them backed up in recovery. The GB rom is nice and fast and I like the VZ themed version.
     

Share This Page

Loading...