• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Bought a new s5 (my 3rd one) not happy :/

vapblack

Lurker
Jan 2, 2017
  • Greetings all. So I've been using the s5 since early 2015 and I've decided to keep using them because they fit my needs. I recently got a deal on one (199) for a 'new' one. The cell phone store said it's new but I bet they're lying. they were adamant that it was new though. It was prisine looking though.

Anywhoo a few days in and I'm noticing its not as fast as I would like and it hangs a lot. This is a big deal for me because I do ride sharing in NYC and I need my phone on point. I can't have a ping come in and it hang. that's money I'm missing out on and it happens. What also happens a lot is that gmaps will hang or crash while I'm driving. I've missed turns because of it.

Is the s5 finally too old to be live? -0r- Is this phone just not a good one? Chinese knockoff? something else?

It has android 5.1.1 and I recently rooted it thinking I could speed it up with some haxxor apps. no dice. What should/can I do?

thanks everyone.

• Greetings all. So I've been using the s5 since early 2015 and I've decided to keep using them because they fit my needs. I recently got a deal on one (199) for a 'new' one. The cell phone store said it's new but I bet they're lying. they were adamant that it was new though. It was prisine looking though.

Anywhoo a few days in and I'm noticing its not as fast as I would like and it hangs a lot. This is a big deal for me because I do ride sharing in NYC and I need my phone on point. I can't have a ping come in and it hang. that's money I'm missing out on and it happens. What also happens a lot is that gmaps will hang or crash while I'm driving. I've missed turns because of it.

Is the s5 finally too old to be live? -0r- Is this phone just not a good one? Chinese knockoff? something else?