1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root BP Pass Through Failed FIXED, NOW IN BOOTLOOP!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by droidx2010, May 30, 2011.

  1. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    Alright best and brightest... I need some urgent help. Trying to SBF back to .340 without any luck, tried it several times now. I keep getting the following:

    Failed flashing process. Phone(0000) Error switching phone to BP Pass through mode (0x70BE); phone disconnected.

    Any ideas????
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    do you have the proper moto drivers?
    and what windows operating system are you on?
    what version of rsd lite are you on
     
    droidx2010 likes this.
  3. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    I SBFed a few months ago using windows vista, rsd lite 4.8, the correct moto drivers, and the gift sbf.

    Right now I've tried 4.8 and the .340 SBF and it failed. So I installed 4.9 and tried that also, still didn't work. I'm in the process of downloading a different SBF file to see if that works, the one I used I got from Roooler and it obviously isn't working.
     
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    did you flash the shadow? or the full sbf file
     
    droidx2010 likes this.
  5. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    Trying to flash the full
     
  6. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    let us know how this works out for you, we need to know
     
    droidx2010 likes this.
  7. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    I'm currently attempting to flash using RSD 4.9 and the 340 sbf from the following link:

    Droid X SBF

    And same error. What should I try next?
     
  8. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,066
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    Get the latest drivers. I linked them in a thread towards the top in the root section where someone else is having a SBF problem.
     
    droidx2010 likes this.
  9. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    Just tried the latest drivers you had linked with RSD 4.9, still failed at the switching device to BP pass through mode step. I'm running out of ideas at this point, I've redownloaded every file required and tried them in various combinations and still fail at the BP pass through.
     
  10. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38

    Are you manually booting your phone into bootloader? Also, do you have a good charge on your batt?
     
  11. thirteen113

    thirteen113 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    163
    36
    43
    Student
    Texas
    I had the same error in windows7. I switched to windows XP and was able to SBF.

    SBF Portable may also be of use.

    http://www.droid-life.com/2011/05/18/app-of-the-day-sbfportable/
     
  12. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    to get as far as the BP pass, he would have to have been in bootloader for RSD lite to recognize the device. Good question though.
    How is/was the battery on that one?
     
  13. Riverman

    Riverman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    101
    17
    38
    I've had the SBF process fail a couple of times at the BP pass through stage. There's another Windows driver that has to load before it can get past that. Both times I had problems, it failed at that stage a couple of times, and then the computer eventually loaded another driver. After it loaded that, the next time I ran the SBF, it worked great. Once the driver's loaded, don't ever uninstall the Motorola drivers or you'll have to go through all of this again.
     
  14. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    I decided to try a new computer today, just loaded RSD Lite 4.9, the latest drivers (4.9.0), and the VRZ_MB810_2.3.34_1FF_01.zip SBF file onto my Windows XP work machine. My battery is still good enough to SBF, and I still fail on the BP pass through.

    Riverman, I'm interested to hear what extra driver you had to load to get past that stage.

    I manually put it into bootloader originally, but now everytime it fails I have to do a battery pull to attempt to SBF again. Whenever I reinsert the battery, it automatically is in bootloader.

    I guess the next thing to try is the sbf portable, if I can manage to download it through my work firewall. Wish me luck!
     
  15. Greavous

    Greavous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    589
    67
    98
    Male
    Leather Wheel re-Skinner
    New Braunfels, Texas
    I cant swear to this but the only time I had a problem getting SBF to complete I put the phone in PC Mode and started over and it worked. Not saying this will cure your problem but worth a try.
     
  16. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,066
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    This still giving.u problems?
     
  17. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    Yep. Still no luck. If I can't get it fixed today, I guess I'll have to order a replacement phone. I'd really hate to be without a phone for a week or however long it takes to ship. This blows!!
     
  18. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    Greavous, there's no way to put the phone into PC Mode since I can't get it out of bootloader until a successful SBF.
     
  19. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,066
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    Does anyone know the link to the all-in-one linux boot disk SBF someone created. It was featured on DROID Life and I think someone posted it here too... its supposed to be fool proof.
     
  20. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,066
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    Aggie13 probably knows what I'm talking about.
     
  21. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    That's my next step. I'm getting my battery charged by a friend right now, and when I get home from work I'm going to have to try the linux boot disk method.

    I still don't understand why a good SBF file + the latest Moto drivers + the latest RSD Lite = failure.
     
  22. Android Al

    Android Al Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    30
    6
    16
    Seattle, WA
    Here's the info on the linux boot disc. This is much easier than dealing with SBF using Windows.

    Linux solution to your Windows/RSD lite problems
     
  23. droidx2010

    droidx2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    OK I managed to use the linux solution to SBF my phone. Now, I'm stuck in a boot loop. I put in the battery, hold home + power, then do data/cache wipe and reboot. Goes straight back into bootloader. What's my move now????

    Edit:

    At the Recovery Screen it says the following at the bottom fyi

    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command
     
  24. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,066
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    So once you boot into recovery you are doing a full wipe right? What I mean is making sure you select Yes after selecting wipe data/cache? If you do a full camera push you will not wipe data/cache. Has to be the half push.
     
  25. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,066
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    I just booted into recovery to see if I got some sort of error at the bottom... I thought on Froyo I remember seeing that too. All I can do is recomend another SBF for good measure and then wipe data/cache again... no reason you should be having these problems after a SBF... just weird.
     

Share This Page

Loading...