1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root brick recovery on my Volt says DOWNLOAD FAIL ???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kwiknuts, Apr 16, 2016.

  1. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    ok here is the background:

    My rooted Boostmobile Volt had Carbon remix rom with TWRP 3.0.0.0 and one day last week it just started rebooting itself endlessly. So I tried holding down Vol+ and Power to gt into recovery TWRP and now TWRP just reboots endlessly too. So I figured something is totally messed up lets just try the brick recovery here get back to ZV3 and go from therehttp://androidforums.com/threads/guide-brick-recovery.893332/ . Downloaded all correct files checked MD5's and followed procedure to a tee. Got it into Download mode holding Vol- while inserting USB just fine and see the D/L screen like I should. After running LG Flash tool correctly all I ever get is DOWNLOAD FAIL with " Device Model is Different " " Check Phone or DLL " See both pics I incluided. Even tried different USB cables. Always the same. Anyone ever encounter this problem and find a solution? Maybe I'm overlooking something. It just seems like it doesn't recognize my Volt at all.

    Or is it possible this thing is hardware bricked somehow? Is there any other way like ADB thing to get it back to ZV3 ?

    thanks
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. andMego

    andMego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #144
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    604
    159
    133
    Are you sure you uninstalled all other phone drivers/software from your computer? I had the same problem but gave up trying to figure it out and I do know that I didn't uninstall the other stuff. Did you try with a different computer?
     
  3. whoshotjr2006

    whoshotjr2006 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    680
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012

    Jul 31, 2012
    680
    1,252
    283
    Male
    electrical/computer engineer
    Ohio
    Has to be your computer. I just had the same thinghappen with twrp 3 that you did and successfully reflashed to stock using the tot in the guide stickied here. Try on another computer and make sure you have the drivers installed referenced in that guide.

    If it makes any difference, my ivy bridge i7 setup doesn't have uefi BIOS for some reason and I love it that way. I know uefi wrecks a lot of stuff. Also make sure you are plugging into a USB 2.0 port and not a 3.0 port. Also mine is a boost mobile volt too.
     
  4. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    My computer is UEFI and flashes fine. Try uninstalling everything and starting over, rebooting between uninstall and reinstall.
     
  5. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    well shoot I tried my old laptop with XP and same results, NADA same results as before. Even re-downloaded all files. Then I tried DPTools and it can't even communicate with phone, keeps saying " Waiting for device ... " no matter what buttons I press on that tool. So I'm guessing thats why the LG Flash Tool FAILED, it can't even see the phone. So I'm guessing its permanently bricked unless someone has another idea?
     
  6. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #142
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    Win 7 might give better results.
     
  7. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    I tried on main PC running W8.1 also tried compatability mode W7 Vista XP etc all same. I have a good Volt for comparison too in DPTools it sees the phone as LGLS740 and all buttons respond unlike bad Volt. grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
     
    #7 kwiknuts, Apr 17, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2016
  8. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #142
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    Well it's good that it has a 30$ price tag on boost mobile as of right now lol
     
    andMego likes this.
  9. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    Ok so I know now that I have soft bricked my Volt not hard bricked it because it does power on into this TWRP bootloop. It's TWRP 3.0.0-0 btw. After googling " TWRP bootloop " I noticed other android users encountering same problem, mostly Samsung and LG devices. Most refer to ADB of Fastboot commands to try to reinstall TWRP or reinstall original recovery and go from there. Anyone know procedure for our Volt to do this? I've never used ADB or Fastboot so keep that in mind. Also I saw some reference to using TWRP terminal commands but I have no clue again how thats done since its bootlooped itself. I know this should be recoverable just need one of you experts to help out. Also, if I can unbrick it I plan to go back to TWRP 2.8.7.0 I think I got into this mess after I flashed the newer TWRP 3.0.0-0.

    btw my TWRP bootloop looks just like this guys only mine is the TWRP 3.0.0-0 screen



    Thanks
     
    #9 kwiknuts, Apr 19, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2016
  10. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    looked in XDA found this for L90 TWRP bootloop fix:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-l90/help/lg-l90-d415-twrp-bootloop-t3234837

    since Volt and L90 are sisters, will this work. If so can someone explain laf.img reference and where would I get same file for the Volt?

    Also I've never used ADB or fastboot so need some guidance. Also what is KDZ reference. I can get to download mode like his second image shows. See below.

    Really could use the help.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      58.1 KB
      Views:
      28
    #10 kwiknuts, Apr 20, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2016
  11. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    Anyone ?

    I feel like I'm so close to fixing this. Isn't there a way to reflash TWRP with ADB or Fastboot thingy? Seems like TWRP is hosed but I still don't understand why that LG Flash tool 1.8 unbrick process failed on mine. :(
     
    #11 kwiknuts, Apr 20, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2016
  12. andMego

    andMego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #144
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    604
    159
    133
    I still think you should try it on another PC
     
  13. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    Ok starting over got rid of all other cell phone drivers now installing LGFlashTool a DBMS box pops up asking

    O ?? ??(Korea Factory ) its defaulted here
    O China
    O Others

    O For Test

    which one ?
     
  14. andMego

    andMego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #144
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    604
    159
    133
    None :)
    You missed a step - something to do with copying and replacing files
     
  15. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Hint: megalock.dll
     
  16. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    In case anyone is wondering I have instructions that will fix TWRP boot loop without erasing the main OS or /data. Below is a repost from my own post here http://androidforums.com/threads/ju...or-g2-mini-sources.977839/page-6#post-7281141


    If anyone bootloops on TWRP v3.0.0 the below instructions should downgrade TWRP without erasing the OS. This worked for me, however use extreme caution when entering these commands below, I'm not responsible for bricked devices.

    Code (Text):
    1. # First download a copy of TWRP v2.8.7.0 from bad_mofo https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24052804347771339
    2. # Connect your boot looping LG VOLT and adb push the resulting downloaded img file to somewhere in the LG Volt like so. /sdcard/Download should be a safe place.
    3.  
    4. adb push twrp_2.8.7.0_volt.img /sdcard/Download
    5.  
    6. # Then open a shell and dd copy the img to the correct recovery partition.
    7.  
    8. adb shell
    9.  
    10. # Verify the correct recovery partition by listing all possible partitions.
    11.  
    12. ls -l /dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/
    13.  
    14. # Should be recovery -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p17
    15. # Then dd clone the TWRP img in place
    16.  
    17. dd if=/sdcard/Download/twrp_2.8.7.0_volt-LOLLIPOP.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p
    18. 17
    19.  
    20. # Wait for completion and then type the command.
    21.  
    22. reboot
    23.  
    24. # It should reboot into the older TWRP v2.8.7.0  from here you can ask it to continue booting to the system or flash something else if you want.
     
    whoshotjr2006 likes this.
  17. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    Ok I think I understand what these instructions are doing. I've never used ADB or Fastboot so am trying to figure that part out. I have these 2 sources http://lifehacker.com/the-most-useful-things-you-can-do-with-adb-and-fastboot-1590337225 and http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=48915118#post48915118 . Does the adb.exe and fastboot.exe have to be in same folder as img file? Could you point to something that shows a noob on ADB / Fastboot how to set everything up in order to do it right. I'm not even sure how to get into that cmd black box thing. I'm using W8.1 btw.

    I'm not a programmer never pretended to be one haha ! thanks for your help on this I was ready to chuck the phone against a wall!
     
  18. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male

    IF you still have boot looping TWRP v3.0.0 on your device and your using Windows, it's essentially is just the same instructions just add '.exe' to the adb commands. 'adb.exe' It should work if you have the correct LG Volt drivers setup on your system. No the img to TWRP doesn't need to be in the same place as adb.exe, just make sure you type in the FULL PATH to the img when you 'adb.exe push' the file to the device. I haven't really ran Windows in a while because I love to use Linux everywhere so I cannot vouch for the new Windows 8, 8.1, or 10 but I know this is what I would have done in Windows 7.

    EDIT: Of corse run this in a Windows Command prompt, cmd.exe
     
  19. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    Yes my phone is still bootlooping that TWRP v3.0.0 . Is TWRP v3.0.0 not ready for prime time or something because I was running TWRP v2.8.7.0 just fine for months before I "upgraded to 3.0.0" and got into this loop mess?

    So I do need to install this ADB thing like in those links right?
     
  20. ShapeShifter499

    ShapeShifter499 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015

    Apr 3, 2015
    376
    262
    108
    Male
    Afaik yes, that should work for installing ADB. I'd stick with v2.8.7.0 for now till v3.0.0 issues are ironed out.
     
  21. DeltaXzombies

    DeltaXzombies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Jun 13, 2015
    182
    122
    88
    Male
    I have fallen victim to the TWRP loop :( :( :(
    UPDATE: Followed the brick guide and thank god it worked, installing ZV6 now then ill have to root, flash TWRP 2.7.8.0 then restore my CM11 backup. My heart is pounding out of my chest. I was on CM13 and i went to make a backup and TWRP just randomly started flashing and rebooting
     
    #21 DeltaXzombies, Apr 25, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2016
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...