1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Bricked my phone today :(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by barnacles, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. barnacles

    barnacles Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    406
    32
    63
    Dekalb, Illinois
    So I had to return my phone to bestbuy for some unrelated issues. My phone was rooted so I figured I'd unroot just to be safe. The phone came with firmware 1.56 so I downloaded the RUU thats out there. When I was almost done installing that firmware I got the fatal error 110. I then had to start my phone every time through the command prompt running fast boot. Awful. Luckily I was able to boot it up for the time I needed. Just a warning to anybody contemplating an RUU unroot. BE CAREFUL. I don't think there is a fix for this yet. At least I couldn't find one in my panic. :eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. DFRESH

    DFRESH Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    559
    39
    88
    The Bay Area SF/Oak
    which RUU did you use? 1.29 or 1.56?

    I used the 1.29 several times so far and nothing....looks like people been bricking their phone using the 1.56....
     
  3. barnacles

    barnacles Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    406
    32
    63
    Dekalb, Illinois
    Well from what ive read if your phone came with 1.56 pre installed you cannot go back to 1.29. I tried that multiple times for my first attempt and kept getting an error. So I searched that error and found a post that suggested I needed 1.56 (since thats the oldest my phones seen)
     
  4. DFRESH

    DFRESH Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    559
    39
    88
    The Bay Area SF/Oak
    yeah those phones with pre-installed 1.56 are the ones with the probs I believe..

    I got mine and it came with 1.29 and it doesn't say "with Google" on the back...
     
  5. barnacles

    barnacles Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    406
    32
    63
    Dekalb, Illinois
    For sure.. There seems to be a lot of recent chat about it around the web so I'm hoping there are some devs that figure this out soon.
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Lately, i've been very tempted to root. Mine is 1.56 and I'm glad I havent for this reason...
     
  7. barnacles

    barnacles Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    406
    32
    63
    Dekalb, Illinois
    I mean I will say this. Rooting is great. The 2.x roms out are blazing fast. Damage has a great ROM with pretty much all the features working. I loved it so much I'm tempted to do it again anyway. Its just SHOULD you ever need to unroot, thats where the problem lies.
     
  8. Visionikz03

    Visionikz03 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    83
    2
    16
    I've used RUU numerous times to flashback to stock 1.56 and had no problems whatsoever. Little things like flashing 1.29 on a "with google" phone can make all the difference in the world. Read read read!
     
  9. barnacles

    barnacles Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    406
    32
    63
    Dekalb, Illinois
    Its not just people that have been flashing 1.29 first from my understanding. There are a few threads over on XDA describing the issue. Trust me, since I got my android all I've been doing is reading. However, I did try n flash 1.29 :/ haha. I don't think it did anything though. The phone never rebooted, there was never a progress bar, i simply got an error before it even started. In an IRC chat someone explained to me that the 110 is a rare error, but does happen on an occasion.

    I guess I learned my lesson tho :D at least it was at no cost
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...