1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Bricked Samsung Note 5

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Yipitikaye, Jul 27, 2016.

  1. Yipitikaye

    Yipitikaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016

    Jul 27, 2016
    8
    4
    6
    Female
    Hello,

    Hope someone can help me out here. What happened to me is very simple and yet very complicated. I rooted my Samsung Note 5, everything went fine. Turned off USB debugging mode and OED lock and restarted the device.

    Now I'm stuck on a bootloop with the message "Custom binary blocked by FRP Lock". Tried using Kies 3 to restore it, wasn't recognized. Tried Smartwitch, same thing didn't recognize the device. Tried to enter in recovery mode not possible. I can still enter in download mode.

    ¿Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    You could try re-flashing the stock firmware with Odin.
    What is your complete model number, country and carrier?
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  3. Yipitikaye

    Yipitikaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016

    Jul 27, 2016
    8
    4
    6
    Female
    Its GM-N920G from Mexico and carrier Telcel
    I am VERY SLOWLY downloading the firmware from samsung-firmware.org hope that works..

    Do you have any tips on how to install or just straight up put it in download mode and click start in Odin with the file?
     
    #3 Yipitikaye, Jul 27, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2016
  4. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Unzip the file and flash with Odin is basically it.
    Sammobile is a good place for stock Samsung firmware. Free download is still slow, about 30 to 45 min and never had a problem with their firmware.
    http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/
     
  5. Yipitikaye

    Yipitikaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016

    Jul 27, 2016
    8
    4
    6
    Female
    It worked just fine! and my information is intact. I used the above website since it had country options, samobile didn't have my country. Thanks for the help! This community is great and I really appreciate it!
     
    mockingbird71 and Jfalls63 like this.
  6. Yipitikaye

    Yipitikaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016

    Jul 27, 2016
    8
    4
    6
    Female
    I am just curious of why I get on the top corner in red letter when I turn on the phone "kernel is not seandroid enforcing " but it's working fine.
     
  7. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  8. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    The kernel message at boot may be annoying, but shouldn't affect anything.
    Flashing stock firmware, I wouldn't think you should get it. Only on custom.
     
  9. Yipitikaye

    Yipitikaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016

    Jul 27, 2016
    8
    4
    6
    Female
    Yes it is the same one and the message is kind of annyoing but atleast it's working. Thanks a lot for the help. For some reason the rooting was inbane since I couldn't install Xpose v86, tried 3 times and ended up in the bootloop every single time. Luckily I made a backup with TWRP beforehand.
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  10. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Are you getting the correct Xposed zip for your processor?
    Have you tried a earlier version?
     
  11. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  12. Yipitikaye

    Yipitikaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016

    Jul 27, 2016
    8
    4
    6
    Female
    Weird, cellphone is resetting on its own from time to time. Almost always when I do a call, what can that be about?
     
  13. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Could be something related to the Xposed attempt. Did you flash back to stock after?
     
  14. Yipitikaye

    Yipitikaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016

    Jul 27, 2016
    8
    4
    6
    Female
    Not really sure what you mean, I think I should just reset it with the firmware you linked from Sammobile, should it be done with Odin or how? Tried it with the AP button in Odin but didn't work.
     
  15. Yipitikaye

    Yipitikaye Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016

    Jul 27, 2016
    8
    4
    6
    Female
    Seemed to work now, was doing something wrong. Reseted it from the Sammobile stock and the red message erased. Hope now it won't keep restarting.
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  16. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    There is a Xposed un-installer zip that I think you are supposed to flash to get rid of Xposed the proper way. Not sure if restoring a backup that doesn't contain Xposed will completely remove all from the system.
    To be 100% stock, I would reflash the stock firmware again then root and install TWRP.
     
  17. eshieldsvx4

    eshieldsvx4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    99
    41
    53
    Male
    A Warning:

    DO NOT install Xposed on TouchWiz. EVER. Bricking is inevitable. you'll need to use Odin to flash the ROM, but I suggest you put the Xposed uninstaller in the PDA section instead. That will disable the binaries Xposed put in Xbin.

    That way, you might not have to do a factory reset. Please do not install Xposed atop any TouchWiz 6 installation and up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...