1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Brightness control widget that works for Hero?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dvdqnoc, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    341
    0
    35
    Is there a brightness control widget that works for the Hero? I disabled the auto-brightness because it sucks. But ever brightness widget I see in the Market, a commenter below says it doesnt work on the Hero... and its an automatically back button click after that.

    So just wondering if anyone has come across one that works for the Hero? Hopefully with good functionality, like slider bar or something?
     

    Advertisement

  2. pking

    pking Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    156
    0
    35
    Denver, CO
    Not yet. Something HTC enabled/tweaked allows apps to change their own brightness, but not the system brightness.

    I'm really hoping this is something that gets fixed in updates, it's a PITA to have to browse through the settings menu to change it. I've actually gone back to auto-brightness because it was less annoying.

    This is one of those things I've been meaning to dig around for in the system now that I'm rooted, so perhaps I or one of the other devs will find a fix of sorts. Hopefully one that doesn't require root, but that seems unlikely so far.
     
  3. pgvelez

    pgvelez Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Long Island, NY
    I use brightness level by curvefish from the market. Works for me.
     
  4. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    341
    0
    35
    Even though it says on the apps main description that it doesn't work for the Hero? I suppose I can try it...
     
  5. ItsDon

    ItsDon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    77
    0
    15
    Bay Area & Austin
    Is there a way to set a minimum level for auto brightness? I like how it gets really bright in sunlight but hates how it goes nearly black at night. Ideally I'd like to be able to set it so that it will drop to a quarter or half or something when dark but still go full bore when in sunlight.

    dvdqnoc did you try Brightness Level? Did it work?
     
  6. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    I tried brightness level by curvefish. No go here.:mad:
     
  7. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    341
    0
    35
    nope, nothng working so far
     
  8. pking

    pking Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    156
    0
    35
    Denver, CO
    Hate to say I told you so, but you're not going to find a market app that does this properly.

    The trouble is, the phone is not honoring the completely valid brightness change on a system-wide level. As soon as you exit the program that changed the brightness, the brightness is reset by one of HTC's modified system daemons.

    For this to work, someone would have to write a Sprint Hero specific app, which isn't worth the time as a developer usually, and may not actually be possible depending on the underlying issue.

    I haven't heard any rumor of this getting fixed in the 'bugfix' patch, but generally not everything in a patch is really advertised.
     
  9. ItsDon

    ItsDon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    77
    0
    15
    Bay Area & Austin
    Hate to dig up an old thread but better that than start a new one, no? Any news or updates on this? A simple switch on my desktop that would send the screen to full brightness when I am outside would be awesome.

    Can't believe something so simple is so elusive....
     
  10. soloassassinxxx

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    B&b brightness control works on the hero but it only lowers brightness to 9% but it pretty good. 0% for that app is probably like the screen turned off or black. But it has a slider to control the brightness. It's pretty good. Prob the best one for the hero
     
  11. cthompson116

    cthompson116 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    4
    2
    6
    Thanks! Works great
     
  12. Droidone

    Droidone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    595
    118
    93
    this has been resolved in 2.1 so I would just sit tight for now. I used a 2.1 rom and it does work...along with a bunch of other things that are a pain right now.
     
  13. mich0020

    mich0020 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    85
    4
    16
    So. Cal
    Didn't work for me :( Was so hoping it would!!
     
  14. rdisanza

    rdisanza Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Ditto, doesn't work on the Hero especially if you use Proximity Switch.
     
  15. cthompson116

    cthompson116 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    4
    2
    6
    My bad. Yeah, it doesn't really work. Once you switch to something else it goes back to its previous state.
     
  16. bhatloid

    bhatloid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Just wanted to let folks know that I just released an app called Brightness Rocker which lets you adjust screen brightness from any app. You can just press the volume buttons and that will display a brightness control, no matter what app you're in. Brightness Rocker also includes a home-screen widget and notification bar icon for controlling brightness.

    It comes in Lite (free) and Pro versions, both available on the Android Market. More info can be found at Brightness Rocker for Android - by Nikhil Bhatla.

    Hopefully some people will find this useful. Works best in Android 2.2, and more slowly in Android 1.5-2.1.
     
  17. Droid808

    Droid808 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    29
    1
    16
    Im rooted and I use adjbrightness (free) on marketplace. Lets you set a number of PRESETS for screen brightness and allows you to customize them and switch between them easily!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...