1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root broken screen need to see it

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by VoidedSaint, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    ok as you can tell my screen is broken on the inside, so i cant see a thing, i have sbf'd as a just in case method because im going to verizon today to see what i can do, i need to wipe data and cache, i think i have but not 100% sure and want to make sure, is there a way to manually do it through adb? or is there a program that will load your screen onto a program so you can see for yourself exactly what is going on?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    Just FYI, I think many if not all Verizon stores don't handle repairs. I think calling 611 is the easiest way to have them ship you another phone.
     
  3. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    o i already have one coming, i just need to see the screen so i can make sure its all taken care of, or use adb to verify it
     
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    ugh you guys are useless!!! :p
     
  5. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    I think Sbfing is enough from my standpoint. You can try to pull the batt, get back into stock recovery then -assuming you sbfed to .602, double volume, 3 volume down clicks, power button, 7 volume down clicks, power button. That should do the factory reset.

    I really don't think they will ever check. Just my 2 cents.
     
  6. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    i think i did, its the fact i want to make sure
     
  7. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    .....if the screen is hosed and you've done the best you can how is someone else going to see otherwise without replacing the screen? lol
     
  8. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    And by that time, the factory worker will just sbf .605 anyway and do a wipe.
     
  9. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    the internals of the phone are still intact, i have sbfed to .602

    its just a verification thing for me, to make sure i wont get hit with a restocking fee :p
     
  10. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
  11. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    VS not sure where you live but in NC I don't think its a felony to root so you should be OK
     
  12. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    no its against your TOS. if you root your warranty is voided and if they find out and you send the phone in to be replaced, you get hit with a restocking fee
     
  13. Wpz2000

    Wpz2000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    162
    26
    43
    Male
    Semiconductor Test Engineer, 3D Technology Develop
    Westchester, NY
    SBF will have 'erased' everything.

    If you are paranoid about your data, the link below will let you format the partitions. But a 'real paranoid' person will know that merely formatting (or SBF) will not delete your data unless something actually wrote over it - and even then there is a chance to get some of it back. So in theory someone can mount the partitions and scan to see your data with a low level data recovery program! :) :(

    Anyway, a VZ tech should see a virgin phone after your sbf.


     
  14. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    hence why i kept stating i want to make sure. that 200+ fee is not something i want
     
  15. catmanzrt

    catmanzrt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    androidscreencast - Desktop app to control an android device remotely - Google Project Hosting

    Here you go VS. you can see your phone screen on your desktop and control your phone with mouse and arrow keys (if rooted). Works great, I used it to run a TiBu backup on my phone with a defective LCD.

    Otiose Banter: Android Screen Control Without Root

    This is a link to a very helpful blogpost about screencast and another option if your not rooted.
     
    VoidedSaint likes this.
  16. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia

    does this only work if your rooted?


    and thank you!



    *EDIT*

    NVM see the second link
     
  17. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    that should be added to one of the stickies maybe. Great find.
     
  18. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    pm sent to steven
     
  19. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    once i can verify it works, i will take care of it
     
  20. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    VS, I thought you had Asurion insurance? Don't they cover everything? I don't understand why they are giving you such a hard time for a warranty replacement :thinking:
     
  21. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    o bo, i got the phone today, its the fact that this is a warranty problem, that im getting the run around that apparently "I" caused this to happen to my phone when i put it on the charger, so now im going get my sister to "cause" a problem for them :)
     
  22. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Oh, so they did send you a replacement after all; at least all that trouble wasn't in vain :D
     
  23. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    yeah it just cost me $99
     
  24. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    Were you out of warranty and that is insurance deductible?
     
  25. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    no they claimed physical damage happens when the screen is cracked underneath your real screen, well we will just see about that


    how does a screen just crack by charging?
     

Share This Page

Loading...