1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Browser fix for 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hlaalu, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. hlaalu

    hlaalu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    202
    24
    38
    I want some more people to try this:

    un-check flash in the settings, clear cache and restart the phone.

    I haven't had any crashes or forced closes since I did this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    should have posted in the 2.1 thread. this will probably get closed down soon.
    hmm...if only there was a 2.1 sub forum... :rolleyes:

    good idea though. i dont have any crash issues though
     
  3. hlaalu

    hlaalu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    202
    24
    38
    I'll post it there when more people confirm that it works, but I figured it would get more attention out here for people to try it out.
     
  4. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    394
    27
    43
    Hmmm, but isn't having flash one of the benefits of using the stock browser?
     
  5. korben dallas

    korben dallas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    124
    5
    36
  6. refthemc

    refthemc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    167
    8
    36
    Los Angeles, CA
    When I first flashed to the 2.1 leak #1, I had some issues with the browser crashing. I switched flash off, then I was like wait a minute I need flash!, so I switched it back on and I never had a problem with it crashing again. Then again that was leak 1 though and now I'm running leak 2, just my 2 cents though
     
  7. hlaalu

    hlaalu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    202
    24
    38
    Post up your results!

    How is your browser on the second leak now?
     
  8. yeahright

    yeahright Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    45
    2
    36
    Rite Aid Cashier . . .
    North Carolina
    Ive been on the second leak since it came out Ive never had to force close my browser?
     
  9. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    164
    16
    38
    zion
    Ditto
     
  10. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Hey now.. no need to be a smart aleck..
    I'm letting these 2.1 threads flow through for now and am going to see how they go.
     
  11. korben dallas

    korben dallas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    124
    5
    36
    My browser crashed didn't work for me
     
  12. Rrrracer

    Rrrracer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    336
    246
    68
    Imagineer
    Indy
    2.1 v2 here... no problem with browser crashing, but the keyboard won't pull up unless I long press a search/input field... anyone else getting this?
     
  13. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    580
    63
    98
    Threads like this are actually helpful. Separate topics like this make finding information much faster and easier.

    Limiting 2.1 discussions to those few gigantic threads is just ridiculous. It's nearly impossible to quickly locate information in those things.

    If that's what they really want, then we might as well just have a 2.1 thread and a 1.5 thread, and just limit the discussions there...
     
  14. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Again, as I've already stated, I'm letting these 2.1 threads flow through for now and am going to see how they go.
     
  15. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    580
    63
    98
    I didn't see that statement, but it sounds good to me.

    I absolutely understand merging threads if they are the same topic (i.e. 2.1 release date, 2.1 browser fix, etc), but to simply lump all 2.1 discussions together is very counter-productive.

    Thanks :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...