1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Browser issues/questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kmod75, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I used to love the stock HTC browser and a lot of my friends still do. I think they keep changing it for the sake of change, and I get it fighting with my status bar too so I don't think it's just you.

    Firefox is Firefox, Dolphin is good if you want to go with the plug-ins, but if you want a browser with a minimal interface, no extra stuff, just a conduit to the WebKit engine under Android's hood then you owe it to yourself to check out Naked Browser. It took me some getting used to it but now I'm glad I did.

    Most every browser out there sends some sort of messages back to their devs, others are still trying to sort out what that's about, I gave up. Naked is guaranteed to not do that because that practice angered the Naked dev so much he simply solved it by making his own app.

    If you don't care about that and don't use a lot of the Dolphin features, then Boat Browser is pretty good imo. Maxthon has a different layout and is also worthy of a check out imo.

    Opera keeps going up and down in responsiveness, so if you like Opera and need some cloud acceleration (like Opera can do) along with great media handling, try out UC Browser.

    At any given time I have at least 6 browsers installed, can you tell lol. :)
     

    Advertisement

    cwk and marctronixx like this.
  2. cwk

    cwk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    36
    5
    36
    IT Guy
    Arizona
    Found some Easter eggs! The corners -- and I mean the very outside corners of the stock browser yield the menus I've been searching for.

    @EarlyMon, I'm going to try the Naked Browser -- with all the fluff and bloat it's nice to hear that someone understands the useful beauty of something that is stripped down to what it needs to be.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  3. QuasiNerd

    QuasiNerd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    48
    7
    16
    Lab Rat
    I was having the same issues with slow browsers. Tired both stock and Chrome. Here are a couple of things that helped:
    - Clear cache... Sucks to do it all the time, since the dang thing should just work. Chrome seemed to accumulate a larger cache (upwards of 100mb) in a very shot period of browsing. But this can be helped by...
    - Turning off the pre-fetching in your settings. As far as I understand it, this option loads multiple pages in the background, which are likely to be interesting to you. Supposed to speed things up, but I guess they didn't take the massive memory drain into account.

    As far as getting to "home" without the button, I've found the quickest way is to open a new tab. Sucks though. I miss the home button.
     
  4. centauress

    centauress Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    93
    8
    36
    Work
    On land, duh...
    Use the 'Labs' pie menu setting. Then it's slide in from either side -> touch planet -> release, and you're seeing the address bar. Slide to the house symbol and it goes 'home'.

    Leastwise, that works on HTC's stock on the EVOlte.
     
  5. jontygee

    jontygee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014

    Apr 2, 2014
    3
    2
    6
    Hi

    I hope someone can help me. Recently my HTC One has annoyingly started to lose my internet connection and returns to blinkfeed page to perform an update.

    I am using firefox and this seems to happen when i am doing a search on the internet. I then click on the URL and whilst it tries to go to the site, the phone then returns to the blinkfeed page and performs an update. Each time I then go back to firefox it does exactly the same, basically meaning I can't search the internet.

    It has only just started to do this and is very annoying.

    Any ideas??

    Many thanks
     
  6. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,651
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,651
    4,391
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    well, have you tried another browser? chrome? boat browser?
     
  7. jontygee

    jontygee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014

    Apr 2, 2014
    3
    2
    6
    yes, it does the same when using internet explorer. Not tried any other. It never used to happen with firefox, it is only in the last 2 weeks it has started doing this but I haven't downloaded anything or changed settings so don't understand why it has just started to do this
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  8. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,651
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,651
    4,391
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    well using another browser will help determine if its an issue with firefox or an issue with something on the phone.

    are you rooted?
    what carrier?
     
  9. jontygee

    jontygee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014

    Apr 2, 2014
    3
    2
    6
    sorry I am not tech savvy. What do you mean by rooted and carrier. Also if the same happens on both firefox and internet explorer doesn't that suggest it is something on the phone.

    Is there any settings I can use to stop blinkfeed updating so often. I have to admit I don't like blinkfeed and never use it but I don't think you can uninstall it??
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  10. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,651
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,651
    4,391
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    One doesn't need to be tech savvy to use this device.

    Internet Explorer is not on your device. The unit comes stock with a browser yes, but it's not IE. It's recommended to install Google Chrome and troubleshoot with that browser also.

    Perhaps you need to reinstall Firefox. Have you done that?

    You can prevent BlinkFeed from being the main screen. There is a specific BlinkFeed thread on this very page that will help you understand BlinkFeed and how to control it's updating.
     
  11. kjh84

    kjh84 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014

    Jun 20, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    I know it's probably obvious but can anyone point my in the right direction for setting links to open in a new tab? Have a HTC One & Chrome

    Thanks
     
  12. tommo47

    tommo47 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    463
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    1,094
    2,418
    463
    Male
    Retired
    Shropshire
    Hi, welcome to Android Forums.

    When you are on the page you want to link tap the 'three dot' menu button top right of the screen, towards the bottom of the options you will see 'add to home screen'. It will add a Chrome bookmark to the first available space in your homescreens.

    If you tap the bookmark it will open the page in a new tab in Chrome browser.

    HTC stock browser and Dolphin both let you add links to the homescreen directly from bookmarks but for some reason you can only do it from the web page with Chrome, unless I've missed something.

    Hope this helps.

    :)
     
  13. kjh84

    kjh84 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014

    Jun 20, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Hi thanks for your reply but its not what I'm after. What I want is when say someone posts you a link for example to a guide, when I click that link it doesn't open a new tab/window! It will keep me on the same page. Sorry if I'm not making myself any clearer lol 😳
     
  14. tommo47

    tommo47 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    463
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    1,094
    2,418
    463
    Male
    Retired
    Shropshire
    Sorry, I did misunderstand you.

    Have you tried long-pressing the link, it should give you a number of options one of which is 'open in new tab'. Having said that the four browsers I use, HTC stock, Dolphin, Opera and Chrome all open links in a new tab with a single tap.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...