1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Browser Tabs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Trimbaud, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. Trimbaud

    Trimbaud Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #339
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    219
    36
    73
    Male
    Collector
    Pennsylvania
    At random, the silk browser when I open it, will load multiple tabs from websites I visited days ago. This, in spite of closing the tabs, and clearing the history and cache.
    It's bizarro!
    Any tips or ideas? Anyone else with this problem? (Please don't let me be the only one!)
     

    Advertisement

  2. tstarky

    tstarky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    41
    0
    35
    I didn't have that problem when I was using Silk. I have switched to using the Dolphin Mini browser. It is faster and more user friendly. It has to be sideloaded but well worth the extra step, IMO.
     
  3. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    I've notices silk goes crazy with the tabs too... Every once in a while it will run out of tabs and you have to close them all. Seems like it's inherant to the browser.
     
  4. grvthang

    grvthang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    530
    62
    78
    Brooklyn, NY
    Ive noticed that too, although I rarely use the Silk browser; I use Opera Mobile.
    I wonder how many people who use these forums use the Silk browser exclusively?
     
  5. dschwa

    dschwa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    64
    6
    36
    Silk is plain horrible.

    If you don't want to side load Dolphin, then I recommend Maxthon Mobile for Android. It is now my standard browser on the Fire and as far as I know, the only one installable from the amazon market.
     
  6. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    I've tried Maxthon on several different roms on my e3d and I just can't seem to like it at all. I'd rather use dolphin or opera when the stock browser gets annoying. The wife never complains about silk though so I just left it as default on the kf. I figure the more amazon software I leave intact on it the more stable it will be and that is the #1 priority for her. If it becomes unstable at all she'll get mad at me for rooting it. lol
     
  7. Trimbaud

    Trimbaud Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #339
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    219
    36
    73
    Male
    Collector
    Pennsylvania
    Looks like the latest upgrade fixed the problem!
     

Share This Page

Loading...