1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

browsers slower on forums than other sites ?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by dan55, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Hi all
    Noticed this a few times. Browsers appear to work slower on forums compared to
    General sites with pictures etc on them. I would have thought that forums with just
    Text links on them would be quicker :-\

    Or am I missing something :-D

    Cheers
    Dan
     

    Advertisement

  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Well most forums like this one have a lot of data on each page, even if there are no pictures.
     
  3. ozzzy3z

    ozzzy3z Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    105
    14
    38
    As a Comcast customer I am immune to slow. With Comcast if you get a sub 10 second page load from 7PM - 10PM you better play the lottery because it's your lucky day. Phandroid's main page can take upwards of a minute to load. Comcast is seriously frustrating.

    That being said, it is likely your service provider. Especially if you notice lag during certain times of the day (typically the evening).
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    One minute to load the main page? Wow:( Takes about 15-20 seconds with a slow out dated sprint hero:rolleyes:
     
  5. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Right. More data on forum page. I see.
    Easy answer :) cheers
     
  6. BookLover

    BookLover Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    977
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    977
    114
    113
    USA
    Super fast browsing if you use Opera Mini.

    This forum's pages load in about 6s or less.
     
  7. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Oh right. Sure I tried that before and just gave me wap
    Style pages :-\
     
  8. BookLover

    BookLover Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    977
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    977
    114
    113
    USA
    Depends on the site. This forum doesn't offer a mobile version so only the desktop version comes up. (I actually wanted it to come up mobile, but no dice).

    There's a setting in Opera Mini that you change to default it to desktop view instead of mobile.

    Most sites that offer a mobile version will also have a hyperlink at the bottom of their mobile pages to link to the "Desktop" version. So it's quite easy to change between the two views.
     
  9. manderle

    manderle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    216
    23
    38
    NC
    It does have a mobile view. Go to the very bottom of the page. In a dropdown box where it says Phandroid Skin, change that to AF Mobile.
     
  10. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Ok thanks
     
  11. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Ah right. Yes ref quicker. A bit wap like though. But will give it a try. Do you know if it is possible to hide left side of screen for user cp?
    Cheers
    Dan
     
  12. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Too nasty. Back to full mode

    Ok ;-)
     
  13. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    You dont need to keep making new posts, just edit the last one you made.
     

Share This Page

Loading...