1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

BT HomeHub 2.0 on AOL?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by pasqo83, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. pasqo83

    pasqo83 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    126
    9
    56
    Hi,

    A friend of mine has given me a BT homehub 2.0 Type B (if that helps anyone).

    My partners wireless is shocking and so I thought I'd give it to her to try.

    Question

    She is on AOL. Will this work with that?

    I have tried looking online but not finding any recent answers (finding answers from 2007).

    Any help please. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,270
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,270
    11,689
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Maybe not. A BT Homehub could be specific to BT's internet service.

    I didn't even realise AOL was still operating as an "ISP". They were always proprietary, you had to use their software to get on-line...good ol' AOL CDs. :D

    She might want to look at changing to a regular normal real ISP, like say BT. She'll still be able to access AOL email, and other AOL content.
     
    pasqo83 likes this.
  3. pasqo83

    pasqo83 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    126
    9
    56
    Doh I was hoping to hear better news lol.. Yh I didnt even know they still exist either. They have had AOL for so long, I think they got such a good deal that they have just stuck with it and forgotten about it, but they didnt want to buy a new wireless router and I just happened to get one for nothing.

    Yeah they are just connected to AOL and that's it, they don't need to use any cd or anything. So I will still give it a try and see what happens, I guess it's a case of ensuring the IP address routes to the AOL? and the username and password (for AOL if any) is corect that it routes to the AOL line perhaps?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah Home hub's are specific to BT. The usual menus for ADSL routers are not there.
     
    pasqo83 likes this.
  5. pasqo83

    pasqo83 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    126
    9
    56
    So saddings :(
     
  6. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
     #71
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,887
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,887
    1,050
    423
    Maybe you could persuade them to switch ISP ..?

    PlusNet is owned by BT, has some superb deals and comes with a pretty good WiFi router (solved all the problems I had with TalkTalk on the same line - that came with a really dire router).
     
  7. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,849
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,849
    873
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    I, too thought America Online was dead and buried long, long ago, too. The only reminder of their ever having existed was the website AOL.com and their AIM client
     

Share This Page

Loading...