1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support buggy and unresponsible keyboard

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hobashira, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    I have been using my new Nexus One for a few days now and noticed a very annoying occurrence: from time to time, the touch keyboard becomes buggy, keys are unresponsive or a key having nothing to do with, and far away from, the one pressed gets activated. This does not seem to be application related and can happen within any application or a menu.

    Has anyone experienced the same thing?
     

    Advertisement

  2. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    yes ,i exp this on my X10i ,it's because of the firmware.
    can you tell me what version and build no you have ?
     
  3. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    2.2 Froyo
    FRF91

    Unless I am mistaken, FRF91 is fairly recent.

    I should have Googled my problem before posting as I have just realised that this seems to be a common issue, which was identified as early as January. I am surprised that no solution has been found yet!
     
  4. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    FRF91 is from late May/early June. Newer builds still do it sometimes though.

    Just lock/unlock the phone to deal with it.
     
  5. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    If you haven't got vibrate on keypress switched off - do that.
     
  6. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male

    It is switched off. I switched it off right from the start as I found it a bit annoying.
     
  7. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest

    It has nothing to do with this option.


    Try upgradeing your N1 to 2.2.1 (frg83) or 2.2.1 (frg83D - newest) ,if you can't upgrade it via OTA ,search this forum for the "manual update guide".
     
  8. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    If this update is required, why can't I get it via OTA? I have just checked whether updates were available and the message I get is that my phone is up to date. Would such a forced manual update not generate other problems?
     
  9. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    none at all ,i have mine manually updated ,no problems what so ever !
     
  10. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    OK, but just so I understand fully, (1) does this update solve the problems with the touch screen and (2) if it does, how come it does not come via OTA?
     
  11. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    from what i read ,the google update servers are closed [correct me if i'm wrong] and that's why you don't get any notification about the update

    about the touch ,it is a good chance it will solve them ! i can't be 100% sure about that [note that if you update manually ,you will void your waranty !!!]
     
  12. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    Voiding the warranty is precisely my problem. I bought my phone a week ago.

    I would rather wait for an update from Google. I have no idea whether they are closed, down or anything else, by the way.
     
  13. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    Sure about that?
     
  14. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    then ,go to HTC and have it checked.
     
  15. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Installing an OTA update manually will not void your warranty, it is no different.

    HTC will have no way to know if the update was installed manually or OTA because the process is the same.
     
  16. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    ...darn ,rusty is right ,only if you unlock the bootloader you void your warranty ... SORRY :(
     
  17. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    Right.

    Well, thank you for your comments about not voiding the warranty. That is good to know.

    However, at the risk of appearing over-cautious (which I am probably!), the so-called "signed-passion-FRG83-from-FRF91.c8847c98.zip" update seems to have disappeared from the Google servers altogether. The question is why? Is there a problem with it?

    If I do nothing, should it not get eventually pushed to my phone if it turns out it should be made available again?
     
  18. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    It should do. The servers were down a couple of weeks ago. I reverted to stock from CM6.1 and got the update a few days later when the servers were back on line.

    I wouldn't worry to much right now. This update doesn't bring anything to the party as far as your day to day use is concerned.
     
  19. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    Thanks MartinS!

    I will wait for the OTA.

    My main expectation with this update was whether a possible fix to the touch screen problem was available.
     
  20. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
  21. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male

    Thanks razvan06 but I already found the update. I would rather get it from the Google servers, though. One never knows. Anyway, as I said in my post above, for the time being, I will give Google another chance to push the OTA from their servers.
     
  22. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    as you wish ,by the way ,that's the link from where i got the update myself,no viruses or any crap like that !
     
  23. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    Many thanks for your help!
     
  24. Teknologic

    Teknologic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    969
    93
    98
    Male
    Belgium
    Just to chime in for a bit: I don't think the Google update servers are closed.. I have refrained from updating ever since I first got the update notification 1-2 weeks ago. And I still get the pop up regularly. Last time I got it was even an hour or two ago.
    I see no reason you shouldn't be getting an update, as long as you've got the directly unlocked version and havn't bought it through vodafone or any other restrictive carriers.
     
  25. Hobashira

    Hobashira Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Male
    My phone is unlocked and was not bought from any specific carrier. What could explain that I do not get any update?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...