1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Bugless Beast 1.0 Killed Root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nofxdan, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    This is my second post about this, but the previous thread kinda just died. Here's the deal...

    After installing Bugless Beast 1.0, I noticed that I was unable to use substitute user (su) in adb shell. Someone assured me this was normal, but I know that's not the case -- many important commands cannot be accessed without su, and busybox does not work. Wifi tether still works, SetCPU seems to be working, but when attempting to install new apps that require root access, they fail.

    I have tried installing the original root update.zip, but this does not work. I still have the Superuser Permissions app in my app drawer, too. Any advice? :thinking:


    EDIT: Installed BB 1.1 and everything is working great :)
    EDIT 2: Lost it again after installing new kernel.
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Yeah, and I suppose the reason it died out is that we all know this - it was a known flaw in the BB 1.0 (and possibly 1.1, but I don't use BB anymore, so I didn't pay attention).

    He was just tweeting about BB 2.x coming out or being out, so 1.0 is rather old news now anyway....best to upgrade.
     
  3. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    OK... after installing t3hSteve's 600 ghz kernel, I lost su again. I then installed DroidMod 1.2 and same thing. What is going on?!
     
  4. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    This is what happens:

    # su
    su
    # busybox
    busybox
    busybox: permission denied
    #
     
  5. exjimenez

    exjimenez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    72
    4
    36
    Tucson
    I've had BB 1.0 installed for about a week now and its my favorite rom thus far, very stable and have zero root issues. Just tested su and busybox both working. Maybe try a nandroid restore to rooted stock 2.01 and going from there?
     
  6. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    If I do a nandroid restore to rooted stock 2.0.1, would there be any way to get all my apps, settings, etc back after reinstalling BB 1.0/1.1?
     
  7. exjimenez

    exjimenez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    72
    4
    36
    Tucson
    there is a way to do it, which unfortunately i am unfamiliar with. Fabolous posted a way to do it on another topic, ill see if i can find it...
     
  8. exjimenez

    exjimenez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    72
    4
    36
    Tucson
    well i cant locate the thread, but if i remember the method correctly is make a nandroid backup of your current settings. then after you have flashed your new rom do an advanced nandroid restore of your data only from the nandroid folder you just made a backup of.
     
  9. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    That makes sense... I'll try this out and post results.
     
  10. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    Did nandroid backup to stock rooted 2.0.1 -- NO DICE! At first, I get the $ prompt in adb, but any attempt to run a command fails. I am at the point where I might just reset the phone to factory stock via RSD using "VZW_A855_ESD56_QSC6085BP_C_01.3E.01P_SW_UPDATE_03.sbf". This is so frustrating!
     
  11. exjimenez

    exjimenez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    72
    4
    36
    Tucson
    that sucks, im still a rookie when it comes to this stuff. hopefully someone can point you in the right direction. have you tried unrooting and re-rooting?
     
  12. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    Not yet -- I'm going to try that next. I appreciate the effort!
     
  13. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    215
    10
    38
  14. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    After much tinkering and restores/reinstalls, I now have restored access to busybox, and all my root apps seem to be working properly.

    Kernel is showing as 2.6.29-omap1-g0dd7e0b android-build@apa26 #511 on BB 1.1.
     
  15. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    215
    10
    38
    Doubled post
     
  16. exjimenez

    exjimenez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    72
    4
    36
    Tucson
    Nice! Good work dude
     
  17. Blackbrawler

    Blackbrawler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    89
    3
    36
    how did you get it to work? I'm having the same problem and I don't have nandroid back up for 2.01 so I could like to avoid that if possible
     
  18. JoeProcopio

    JoeProcopio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    288
    4
    56
    Video Engineer
    New Jersey
    x2

    BB2.1ERE25 vlatest....everything was fine until i installed OC kernel, lost root, well at least in titanium backup...

    what was your fix?
     
  19. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    215
    10
    38
    You can hit problems? In titanium backup or use root explorer to edit busybox arttributes to user / execute
     

Share This Page

Loading...