1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Build from OTA/RUU

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xstefen, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    So to start a ROM from true stock base, Would I run the RUU and copy the files in order to have a true stock base for modding? I feel guilty using someone elses and self-incorperating SU/Busybox I should probably learn so I think it would be better to do so. Whats the best way of acquiring a true stock base ROM to start with thats fully updated latest firmware
     

    Advertisement

  2. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    You can start the RUU and go to your %temp% directory, and pull the rom.zip out, but it won't be fully updated since the RUU is 1.13 I think, and we are on version 1.14. I could be mistaken there.

    Alternatively, you could run the RUU, go to stock, enable USB debugging, take the OTA's that there are, then open up ADB and issue the command

    Code (Text):
    1. adb pull /system
    That will pull the entire system partition off of your phone and put it on your computer in the android-sdk directory. Its how I used to do it, getting a fresh start with a fresh stock ROM.
     
    xstefen likes this.
  3. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    so the 2.89 ruu doesnt have the 1.14 firmware? heartbreaking. didnt want to go thru that much process but if thats the only way, thats how i want to start. no sense in building on outdated software :(
     
  4. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    The GOOD news is, you only have to do it once ;)

    Once you pull the entire /system partition, you'll have it. Then make a nandroid of being on stock. Then poof. You're all set

    That way, in case of breaking something (It WILL happen. Promise. You will make the phone not boot at least once ;)) You can just restore, then issue the command

    Code (Text):
    1. adb pull /system/app/NameofAPK.apk
    And poof. You're back in business.
     
    xstefen likes this.
  5. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    If i am correct, I would have to rip an updater-script and everything else to go with it. Ayyyiyiyiyiyyy this will be a fun project. Need to make it hboot 1.50 compatible, incorperate SU busybox etc, all tweaks, oh man... all for an old and outdated phone. But thatll put me one step ahead for my next phone :D Aside from Sense, b/c this will be my last HTC phone [assholes] :p Thanks Prinny
     
  6. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
     #66
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    updater-scripts aren't that bad, once you get the hang of it.

    You COULD find one like jmz's and (with his permission of course) modify it to fit your needs.

    As far as being compatible with multiple hboots...that I do not know, but you'll be fine with the rest.

    You could look at Jmz's script though, since he has incorporated SU and Busybox. Just to give yourself a starting point.

    Good luck.
     
  7. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Be careful, the 2.89 RUU is for the Sprint Evo 3D and it would be much easier to start with the 1.13 VM RUU as prinny suggested if you are trying to build a ROM for Virgin Mobile users. If you flash the 1.13 RUU and the OTA update then pull the system partition with the ADB command prinny gave you, it will be updated to the 1.14 level and you can use that as a base for your ROM.

    Don't worry about the firmware since you won't be including that in a custom ROM anyway.

    ramjet73
     
    xstefen likes this.
  8. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    This thread has some advice on how to make a ROM compatible for older hboots, although it won't be exactly the same for VM based ROM's.

    HTC backed down on the RUU/custom ROM thing with jmz, but I can't promise they won't return to that policy in the future.

    ramjet73
     
    LakersDroid likes this.
  9. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Thanks alot guys just what I needed
     
  10. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    Now would be the time to download and save the RUUs, just in case :D
     
  11. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Im wondering what the advantage of basing of the Sprint 2.89 OTA would be versus the 1.13/.14 VM OTA?
     
  12. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    None that I can think of.

    If you patch the 1.13 base with the 1.14 OTA that's actually more current than the Sprint 2.89.651.2 build and has the VM customization built-in. The higher build number for the Sprint RUU is only because it had many GB builds before ICS was released for the Evo 3D.

    ramjet73
     
    xstefen and Brian706 like this.
  13. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    All I needed to hear. I was confused as to why alot of VM specific roms were built from that source. Always helpful Ramjet, thank you and Prinny for clearly answering my questions and even providing helpful links as always
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...