1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Build.Prop Tweaks confirmed working [Updated 9/18/2015]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 6th_Hokage, Aug 25, 2015.

  1. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    Sorry bout that... It has happened you can try getting lg radio.app ported from g2 or g4. U must have fm.framework.apk n fm.so (drivers in lib folder installed to try it out ) or wait for someone to build a custom kernel
     

    Advertisement

  2. Nickforever216

    Nickforever216 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014

    Sep 5, 2014
    156
    54
    63
    Male
    College + Crap College Job
    USA, Cleveland, Ohio
    Which build prop would disable vibration? I couldn't find it. So I can silent phone with no vibration. Hate how lollipop changed silent mode! Another guy metion he did this, but didn't dive into it. Tried apps that supposedly worked but they didn't on this phone.
     
  3. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    Just set it to priority mode, that should get rid of vibrations
     
    stovo06 and Krlypumaa like this.
  4. Nickforever216

    Nickforever216 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014

    Sep 5, 2014
    156
    54
    63
    Male
    College + Crap College Job
    USA, Cleveland, Ohio
    I tried that, but it still vibrates. Its annoying when your at work, school, etc.
     
  5. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    Not sure what to tell you then, mine never did that.
     
  6. Nickforever216

    Nickforever216 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014

    Sep 5, 2014
    156
    54
    63
    Male
    College + Crap College Job
    USA, Cleveland, Ohio
    Yeah thanks anyway. So when you did it, there was no vibe?
     
  7. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    Nope
     
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  8. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    You can do it by messing with the settings.db (database) but i don't want to take you there yet... Cu u can. Get into a bootloop it it not done properly.
     
  9. bustone747

    bustone747 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015

    Jul 28, 2015
    22
    6
    26
    Male
    hvac tech
    Conyers, Georgia
    With these build prop edits and switching to t-mobile apn i was hitting on 59 mbps then i soft bricked and used return2stock.zip from this forum now using t-mobile apn won't even register lte at all and build prop edits do nothing. Wth?
     
  10. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    How'd you softbrick?

    Im on 6.0 (metro variant. T lmo firmware. Busy box xposed gravity box etc) and im curious to know if all of the settings in the o.p. have been tested?

    Even though ive already made 2 backups this week via twrp i want to make one more before i try more build prop tweaks. So far i think ive just enabled multiwindow for all and one other thing i forget now.
     
  11. JayBondzeWell

    JayBondzeWell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    387
    77
    53
    many of the tweaks do still work but to a very minimal level due to the MM changes. i'll upload my build prop for you all. dont forget to backup before implementing. Alot of changes were made, device is a bit smoother and faster.
     

    Attached Files:

    bcrichster and Krlypumaa like this.
  12. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,264
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,264
    2,318
    693
    Male
    USA
    What tweaks do you have in this?
     
  13. JayBondzeWell

    JayBondzeWell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    387
    77
    53
    updated cortex. maps, logs off. minize excessive files, sound qualities improvement. and edited dalvik heapsizes
     
    Krlypumaa and tube517 like this.
  14. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    The only way you guys can get softbrik its of you change dpi, built, fingerprint, keys,...
     
  15. JayBondzeWell

    JayBondzeWell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    387
    77
    53
    only because i like you people.... just a weeee bit
    THIS IS A MARSHMALLOW BUILD PROP/ ETC TWEAK.
    YOU KNOW THE DRILL.
    So, as you'll see. ALOT of files have been edited and sound will be higher, bit better everythign all around.
    WAYS TO INSTALL,
    FLASH IT
    or
    UNZIP AND REPLACE, DON'T FORGET TO FIX PERMISSIONS AND THEN REBOOT.

    ***I did not include adoptable storage in the build prop. IF you want. Edit build prop and insert line "ro.lge.adoptable_storage=1", restart device,
    go to storage and USB,-->click on sd card--> options button on top right corner --> format as internal
    (don't forget to backup SD data on pc or internal before performing for it wipes SDCard),
    when finished, restart device and enjoy***
     

    Attached Files:

    #115 JayBondzeWell, Apr 12, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
  16. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,264
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,264
    2,318
    693
    Male
    USA
    And always make sure you backup before any build.prop modifications
     
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  17. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,264
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,264
    2,318
    693
    Male
    USA
    Anybody know if there is a build.prop.tweak to enable Advanced Messaging? I have the Metro Stylo but flashed the T-Mobile Marshmallow update. I don't see it enabled in settings.
     
  18. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Anyone Notice that changing the build line from user to userdebug gives the option to allow Googles iteration of multiwindow in developer options but it doesn't work?

    I tried turning off lg's "dual window" and turning on the option from developer options and nothing. It's either use lg's version of f*** off. :-/
     
  19. CYCONUMNUM

    CYCONUMNUM Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    810
    407
    133
    Male
    my occupation is a peaceful one
    in a van down by the river
    well I flashed the jaybondze.zip ...
    wish I had checked the values in the provided xml file...
    setting them all to 99 just makes a mess of the sound..
    it overrides any chance of the EQ helping with tones....
    it makes the calls sound like I'm trying to order food from a drive thru that was made in the fifties ....
    I've been here with my past two phones....
    time to find a tutorial on editing xml and flashing zips....
    it'll probably be the umpteenth time since I don't retain info...
    .like....I should look where I step....
    I appreciate my ringer being crazy loud...I used to miss calls....
    bla
     
  20. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    you can set them to below 99 to like 50 and see what that sounds like
     
  21. CYCONUMNUM

    CYCONUMNUM Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    810
    407
    133
    Male
    my occupation is a peaceful one
    in a van down by the river
    i did...i edited the file in the zip to be flashed ...94 is safe...but i missed in call ear and mic...so i get crazy echos...have to turn the sound more than to less than a quarter for it to be decent....
    i'd edit those ...but, i'm in no hurry to start fiddling with settings...i've ran the same setup for more than 3 months...and it's better than what else is available.to me...we have our own idea of "perfection"...it's not that...but,it's not bad either :)
     
    6th_Hokage and bcrichster like this.
  22. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    737
    228
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    Thanks for putting these up! I can't believe I haven't bothered with these tweaks before. I did these two:

    #Increase VM Heap Size (default is 36m)
    dalvik.vm.heapsize=72m

    #makes apps load faster and frees more ram.
    dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=m=y,v=n,o=v,u=n

    and already, my phone is more responsive. My VM G Stylo is locked down on 5.1.1. It's especially helpful with the facebook app, which can be a bit slow sometimes! I might do a few more of the tweaks from the original post, but the two above are great to start with.
     
  23. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    737
    228
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    OK, now I am in a serious bind... phone doesn't go past the initial LG screen! Will I need adb to change the /system/build.prop file? I have a copy of the original build.prop, and another with the two tweaks I mentioned earlier. Or can I use any of the LG utilities in Windows to get me out of this jam?

    *sigh*

    In the meantime, I'll have to activate my older LG Tribute while this thing gets fixed. Ugh, I'd hate to have to reflash the 5.1.1 ROM and start over, but if that's what I have to do... :(
     
  24. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
    Did u try to do one of ur back up u did?
     
  25. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,093
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    Pull battery, reinstall battery, see if it boots up , if not , pull battery, install battery, reboot recovery, check for a backup , wipe , restore backup.
    If you get jammed unbrick with your last known os kdz file.
     
    roadkill42 and bkttk2 like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...