1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Bunk phone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DarkPatu, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. DarkPatu

    DarkPatu Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    So, I bought my wife an indulge for mothers day, and at first, she loved it, but it has since proven to be the worst use of $300 I could have thought up. She's replaced it once already and the same problems seem to be cropping up, so it's likely not the result of just a 'bad-phone'. Screen freezing, unresponsive android keyboard, difficulty answering when receiving a call, a lot of really frustrating problems. Is anyone else experiencing this with the Indulge? If so, do you have any suggestions as to how to correct them? Let me know, and if we can avoid rooting, I think that would be best, I goofed up on one root attempt previously and had to pay for it, so I think that kind of scared her away from that path. Let me know, Thanks!

    Patu
     

    Advertisement

  2. mk_ultra19

    mk_ultra19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    316
    112
    68
    Sounds like you have had some bad luck. My phone doesn't freeze up or any of that.

    If you root your phone and you start deleting things that you shouldn't....good chance that could mess up your phone.
     
  3. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    mine rarely has any probs but ofcourse i got mine when when the price tag was still $400 and only 2 weeks released.i suggest u turn off useless features running on ur phone when ur not using them if u go to ur appications tab on the bottom then look for task manager look at active applications close everything there then go to ram management and clear level 2 out this will help clear memory out so ur phone can work better. also there are useless widgets that u dont need running like that youtube widget just put ur finger on it till a trash icon on the bottom appears and drag it to the trash can. also follow these steps to conserve more battery life which will also help ur phone function a lil better in my opinion. How to Extend Battery Life for Samsung Galaxy Indulge from MetroPCS
     
    SwervFusion likes this.
  4. DarkPatu

    DarkPatu Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    No, we've tried all of that, and it still seems to be working poorly. The android keyboard won't react with either heptic or halo feedback, and it takes a good 10 seconds to react to any touched key. When receiving a call it takes again, almost 10-15 seconds for the swipe answer to react properly and accept the call. I don't really get what's going on and it frustrates the hell out of my wife. We're looking into downgrading to a lower version of the android, like the Optimus M (which I have and don't have any problems with).
     
  5. sreum

    sreum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    614
    113
    93
    michigan

    I had the same problems for 3 months straight from day thats why I left metro and went else where and went back to my awsome blackberry! lol they are more reliable in my book.

    But anyways, try doing a battery pull on her phone once a day. And also remove any app killer apps. And use the phones factory app killer. I noticed that seems to stop the freezing if you use the phones stock app killer versus a downloaded one.
     
    SwervFusion likes this.
  6. $hortDogg916

    $hortDogg916 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    33
    2
    16
    Recently LAID OFF
    California
    If I were you I would contact Samsung. And i'm not talking about their online chat or talking to a regular representative. Ask for tech support and they will have a better idea of what might be going on. Will it aggrevate you? ABSOLUTLEY! However, they are the manufacturer and "SHOULD" know more than others and probably have heard of more glitches these phones are experiencing. Oh and by the way. that freezing up problem sounds like a program running in the background. Methodically remove every app that you or your wife has installed and check every time to see if it affected it any. My wife has the Optimus and she must have had a bad app or something because it was freezing up all the time. they reset it the phone at Metro and it cleared up the problem.
     
  7. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    Yeah, I had this problem once too, and it was a crappy app (unresponsive screen). I can't even remember what it was. As for the keyboard thing, never happened to me. So, how many new apps you got in there?
    If you don't have any, change it again. Although rare, maybe you hadtwo bad phones in a row...
    Hey, people win the lottery, and the odds are WAY worse! :)
     
  8. linabeana

    linabeana Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    I've not even had this phone for a whole month. I actually upgraded from the awaii or something like that - because the touch screen buttons would click letters four buttons over...and my fingers are not THAT fat.

    But I am having it lock up at least two times a day - even after a reset at the store. (i was told if it keeps doing it - to go to a metro pcs corporate store, about 40 min away from me)

    Swipe to answer - being the only method of answering - is BS. Cuz when the screen freezes - the only way to fix it is try to turn the power off - (buttons work) and use the arrow keys on the manual key pad - to select "power off" and then click OK.

    Even trying to get it to come back on - it makes me want to throw this stupidly expensive phone across the room. I should have just asked my ex husband to let me keep the iphone/black berry's I have in his name on his ATT acct.

    I'm SICK SICK SICK of this phone - and I'm very disappointed - because I was told that it's 4G (how many times am I stuck with NO INTERNET connection - even 20 min after waiting for gps to recognize where I am, or send an email to friend to let them know I'm coming - or heck, to try and get the address out of an email..that I thought I'd have no problems accessing.) I rebooted and rebooted and this crap keeps happening.

    Oh - and to boot - you can't even Yahoo IM a metro pcs phone - at all. Why? The texts are unlimited - why is this a problem?

    I might look into boost and demand a refund on this ungodly expensive line.
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  9. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    Because Yahoo relies on email-to-SMS gateways and Metro's may not be properly set up.

    If you want IM, just grab Trillian or Meebo from the Market.
     
  10. sreum

    sreum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    614
    113
    93
    michigan

    Boost runs off of Sprint 3G networks. So does Virgin Mobile.
    I recommend either one of them if you are looking for reasonable rates with reliable networks. 4G is faster but very unreliable with Metro, I switched to Virgin and to be honest with how reliable the 3G is I dont mind the slower speed, its not as bad as people make it to be. Its better then having signal of 4G then nothing as you are loading a page. After having to reload a page a number of times with Metro 4G.....the 3G has already loaded up 2 or 3 pages.
     
  11. polywood223

    polywood223 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    220
    8
    36
    waffle house
    gp texas
    Every now and then my phone has unresponsive screen and can't answer a call if a lot of ram is being used
     
  12. polywood223

    polywood223 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    220
    8
    36
    waffle house
    gp texas
    One thing too is if you clear the ram when you first start the phone up it sill run souch smoother
     

Share This Page

Loading...