1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Busybox How-to?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Davelosm, May 10, 2010.

  1. Davelosm

    Davelosm Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Hi everybody.

    I've been looking to install busybox on UK Milestone 2.1, and have found only a few pages of instructions, but all of these seem to come up with errors, I dunno if its the new firmware or just something I'm doing wrong with ADB.

    I'm fairly new at this but i know my way around flashing and had a shot at ADB so i'm not entirely a newbie..

    Anyone know of any (working) how-to's for busybox?

    Thanks in advance for the help
    Dave
     

    Advertisement

  2. craigcrawford1988

    craigcrawford1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    111
    37
    43
    This is how I installed BusyBox (you must have root):
    1. Download BusyBox from here and extract it to the SD card.
    2. Download Terminal Emulator (free).
    3. Download Root Explorer (
     
    hexdsl and Davelosm like this.
  3. JohnM109R

    JohnM109R Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    Montreal,Qc
    Or you can install Titanium backup Pro and this will install busybox for you also :)
     
  4. Davelosm

    Davelosm Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Thank you, I'll give this a shot and let you know.
    I tried the backup way via nandroid but I came across some EOCD error that way that I can't find the answer to.

    I suspect your method will work with root explorer since when i tried this earlier i was getting permission errors, but that should be fixed by mounting in RE, if im thinking right.

    Anyway, ill let you know

    Thanks
     
  5. Davelosm

    Davelosm Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Great! Worked perfectly, no problems at all.

    Except before you start you need to use root explorer to change the read/write permissions on system/xbin, otherwise it won't work.

    But thanks, saved me a lot of time.
     
  6. craigcrawford1988

    craigcrawford1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    111
    37
    43
    Glad it worked for you :D
     
  7. joelgm

    joelgm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Hi..
    Sorry to barge into this thread. But my problem concerns the same..
    I'm trying to install busybox..
    I have managed to create /system/xbin and have copied the file busybox to /system/xbin.
    On executing the command
    busybox --install /system/xbin

    I get this error:
    busybox: /system/xbin/reboot: Operation not permitted.
     
  8. droidzone

    droidzone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    436
    58
    53
    Doc
    India
     
    joelgm likes this.
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    The simplest way by far is installing Titanium Backup and in the ap ou can make it install bb for you.
     
  10. droidzone

    droidzone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    436
    58
    53
    Doc
    India
    Indeed, that is the easiest method. But many people have reported that only Titanium can use the version installed in that manner. The location is inside titanium's data folder. We got to get it Inside the xbin folder.

    Edit: auto smileys!
     

Share This Page

Loading...