1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root busybox/nand unlock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zjrushing, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. zjrushing

    zjrushing Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    ok so i am just getting my SGS vibrant rooted. however, when i go to install busybox it tells me that i haven't nand unlocked my phone. just curious how i do that? i am able to be a superuser and i know that it is rooted but i am hesitant to go any further without being able to install the lag fix posed on the xda website [UTIL] One Click Lag Fix - xda-developers. i have backed up my current rom using rom manager and titanium backup. i'm a little lost although my vibrant is running faster than ever! any help would be great
     

    Advertisement

    silverstreak1 likes this.
  2. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    That's weird. How did you root your phone?
     
  3. AndroidJoe

    AndroidJoe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I'm having the same problem on my Droid FRG22D. I rooted with Easy Root and have Superuser access but Busybox 1.18.1 downloaded from market says my phone is not nand unlocked. Trying to get Titanium Backup working but is needs busybox.

     
  4. Sharpedge

    Sharpedge Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Same here, galaxy s rooted with one click and the busybox install says the phone may be nand locked. I do notice that it does say that the phone is rooted but it can not find busybox. Where is it looking for the software?
     
  5. Dillops

    Dillops Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Same here. Rooted Vibrant with One Click... but can't install busybox, says not nand unlocked. WTF is nand unlocking anyway?
     
  6. mygalaxy

    mygalaxy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    Having the same problem here too. I emailed the busybox developer but got no reply...guess he/she was busy.
     
  7. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
  8. SEC_SAM

    SEC_SAM Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I am having the same sort of problem with my Samsung Captivate running 2.1. I have rooted it and verified that. SuperUser is installed and working. I am emulating Verizon and have installed several non-Market apps.

    I am trying to install BusyBox and get an error message that my NAND is locked.

    Is there or does anyone know of a UNLOCK NAND program for those of us that are NOT developers but do want our phone to run as they were designed and not will all of that bloatware that AT&T adds?

    Many thanks.
     
  9. droidisawesome

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    somewhat same problem... busybox install fails.. get message that i only have 404k free and need 1000k... ive tried deleting apps, pictures, cleared history, data, cache.... nothing creates more space for busybox.... what do i need to do?

    rooted with superoneclick, on vibrant 2.2 froyo
     
  10. Xioteer

    Xioteer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same problems..

    Just use the Titanium Backup "Problems?" Button.
    There u are able to let Titanium Backup download Busybox! It installs a far older Version of Busybox, but after that it worked fine for me!


    Just uninstall the other Busybox app.. It told me the same.. Not enough space and no nand unlock..
     
  11. teh_dude

    teh_dude Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    496
    96
    73
    Full time student at UT Arlington, in middle of BS
    Arlington/Denton, TX
    http://androidforums.com/optimus-m-...l-thread-turned-success-post.html#post2818928

    I posted the above in the sub-forum for my own phone, but had found this thread in the suggestions after typing in a subject line, so the above link is there in case someone might find what I found helpful.

    EDIT: "fail thread turned to success post" has nothing to do with this thread here, and everything to do with the topic over in my own phone's forum. It refers only to the fact that I was going to post what that link goes to as a question to others, but then I had tried the fix that is mentioned in the post, and it worked. Hence, "fail turned to success". :p
     
  12. Tuliobbs

    Tuliobbs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hi!

    I still cant intall busybox on my Galaxy S!

    Anybody know how to solve that??

    Thanks!!
     
  13. Tuliobbs

    Tuliobbs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Version 16.2 !

    Download BusyBox installer, it is another application, there you can choose versions, many of them!
     

Share This Page

Loading...