1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Busybox?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phenixdragon, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. phenixdragon

    phenixdragon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    85
    0
    15
    I am new to Android so forgive me on what probably is a couple of simple questions.

    First one is, what is Busybox for?

    Second, what is the latest version and how do you get it install?

    I want to give Titanium Backup a try but it looks like it requires Busybox.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rori

    rori Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    90
    0
    35
    Austria/Vienna
    Is your N1 rooted??
     
  3. phenixdragon

    phenixdragon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    85
    0
    15
  4. rori

    rori Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    90
    0
    35
    Austria/Vienna
    BusyBox is a single multicall binary that packages the functionality of most widely used standard Unix tools..
    latest version and how do you get it installed -> sorry never did that yet :)
    I got Cyanogen latest rom and it
     
  5. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    i have new cyan rom. i tried to install titanium back u saying i need busy box and having errors when i try to intall? can anyone help?
     
  6. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    156
    5
    36
    louisiana
    is unknown sources and debugging checked?
     
  7. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    unkown was not checked. but just tried again.. it goes to down load busybox hits 100% and than i get error that i dont have root privledges.
     
  8. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    156
    5
    36
    louisiana
    so it would seem it isn't rooted? is there a superuser permissions app in your tray?
     
  9. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    no super user. but i install cyan latest rom tho. and i have the padlock unlocked too? I got the phone rooted on craiglist but was having issues w/ the rom so i reinstalled cyan's latest.
     
  10. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    ok i installed superuser from marketplace. when i click on it blank screen and i still can't download busy box.
     
  11. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    156
    5
    36
    louisiana
    I don't have anymore help for you. I usedSuperboot for ERE27 with himem enabled
    from here
    10/May ERD79 -> EPF21B - Superboot - rooting the Nexus One - Android @ MoDaCo

    to root my phone. It took me a while and a lot of reading to figure all that out. I'm far from a phone geek.
    Don't give up though.

    edit, I do remember that I had issues before I flashed the himem superboot. All the root apps that were on my phone worked the next morning after I did that. I did notice that after the flash of superboot I had SU permissions.
    It just might be that you're missing something. I would just reflash and try again with a reboot.
     
  12. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    i wiped phone and completely redid everything. and working now. thanks.
     
  13. jbrinkley

    jbrinkley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    156
    5
    36
    louisiana
    you're welcome
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...