1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Button Layout Makes No Sense

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by charlie310, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. charlie310

    charlie310 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    204
    22
    38
    Los Angeles, CA
    One main thing I noticed with Moto Droid phones is the unintuitive button layout.

    Logically, it would make sense to make the most often used button near your thumb. Why do they always make the power & screen on/off button on top? Who the hell uses their volume rockers more than the power button? I, personally, pres the volume rockers like 10 times a week (when I go jogging), and I press the power button over 150 times a week.

    That is all. I know some of you may think I'm being too picky. I just think that they could have switched the placement of the volume rockers and power button without much effort, and the phone would have been so much easier to use (or the best layout would be power on right side, volume on left). It bothers me that someone was paid a lot of money to come up with the current button layout.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Samsung tried the power button on the side. It's an epic fail if you have a case. holding the phone by the sides causes it to shut off during calls.
     
  3. tofizzle

    tofizzle Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Aug 26, 2011
    39
    9
    16
    The way I hold the phone, the power button is in the perfect spot. I'm used to pressing it with my index finger and having it on top makes it very convenient for me.
     
  4. &roid

    &roid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    193
    92
    63
    I'm assuming you use the power button more to wake up your phone..... Did you know that the volume buttons also wake up the phone too?
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    To each there own. Personally, that's one of the things I love about my Samsungs (and the screen) and why I didn't swap to the Bionic when it was released. :)

    No issues with it being on a case either. :)

    ... And having options is the best thing about Android!!
     
  6. LrdAnkh

    LrdAnkh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    146
    35
    43
    Dierector of Sys. & Operations (IT)
    West Orange, NJ
    It doesn't matter where they laced in on the phone there will always be somebody not happy with its placement.
     
  7. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    Do they? I just tried pressing my volume buttons and they didn't wake up the phone. Is there some setting that I am missing to allow this?
     
  8. AurJohn

    AurJohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    115
    13
    38
    Aurora, CO
    +1
     
  9. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL

    I think WidgetLocker can do it, but AFAIK the stock lockscreen is only awoken by pressing the power key.

    And for what it's worth I would HATE a lock button on the side. The top is and will always be the best for me. The only thing better would be a technology to sense when I want my phone to unlock and it does it for me.
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I came from the OG Droid ... had if for almost two years. It took me all of about 12 minutes to "get use to" the new button layout of the Bionic. Love it. :D
     
  11. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    What I hate is how they moved the power button on the opposite side of where the OG Droid had it's power button. I find myself always trying to hit the old power location and release there's no button there LOL.
     
  12. &roid

    &roid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    193
    92
    63
    Maybe it's a side effect of LauncherPro that I use, I don't remember how it acted out of the box because I loaded LauncherPro as soon as I got in the parking lot after purchasing it, but even when I go back to stock BLUR using Home Switcher for Froyo, the volume keys still wake up the screen. Droid Bionic screen wakeup using volume keys - YouTube
     
  13. CKwik240

    CKwik240 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    188
    43
    43
    I do wonder if the placed the button on the upper left with some thought with how the phone fits in the docks. With my old DX, I accidentally hit the power button quite often while docked. This is no longer the case for me. That said, the button placement is fine for normal use as well. Its a lot easier to reach it with my index finger than it was on the DX.
     
  14. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL
    It appears your phone doesn't have a lockscreen? Do you use NoLock by any chance? Your phone isn't technically locking so maybe thats why your volume rockers work.
     
  15. &roid

    &roid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    193
    92
    63
    Yes I do use NO LOCK..... forgot about that one :eek:
     
  16. HotDawg

    HotDawg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    338
    33
    63
    data analyst
    ^ This, exactly. :D


    Except - I still cannot get used to the menu button switcheroo. :rolleyes:
     
  17. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    I actually like the where the menu button is cause I would always hit the back button way too much by accident. However I've gotten used to it's location that my fingers still hit the menu button instead of the back button.
     
  18. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ

    That's my biggest complaint about the bionic - changing the soft key locations from the OG Droid. Aside from just being used to the original layout, I think the original layout makes more sense. After almost 4 weeks I still find myself pressing the menu button instead of the app drawer icon because icons are unfamiliar to me. Why can't they just make a consistent interface?
     

Share This Page

Loading...