1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Buttons not working...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sillykins, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. sillykins

    sillykins Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I only got my X10 just over a week ago and the menu, home and back buttons on the bottom were randomly not working and it's only becoming more and more consistant. It's driving me nuts and it's especially frustrating since it's a brand new phone. I can't find anything on the internet and yes my phone software is upgraded. The guy at Rogers was like oh welllll guess you'll just have to wait 2 weeks until the next upgrade then MAYBE it will work again.. Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    Take it back for a replacement!

    No if's, buts or maybe's its a hardware fault.
     
  3. clockwork58

    clockwork58 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    256
    29
    43
    Toronto
  4. sillykins

    sillykins Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Ahh for eff sakes.. thanks guys.. at least I have an answer now. I'll call/go in tomorrow for sure.
     
  5. chuckthefuk

    chuckthefuk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I have the exact same problem as you. I am the only one who is having this problem out of four friends with the x10 on rogers.

    I can not update via seus, it just tells me to keep holding back.

    All the buttons lock up and only touch and power work.

    Sometimes they work randomly other times i need to turn the phone off or pull the battery out.


    I have warrenty and instant exchange but i have a hard time accepting the hardware has failed.
    -chuck
     
  6. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    Its not the hardware that's failed its the software.
     
  7. Eddie_Brock

    Eddie_Brock Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    110
    8
    36
    BC, Canada
    To be 100% sure, remove any case that your phone might be in.

    I have a silicone case, and sometimes when I don't install it properly, it slightly presses either the camera or the volume buttons and my lower keys dont work. All you have to do is make sure the case isn't pressing any of the buttons.
     
  8. chuckthefuk

    chuckthefuk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    So i removed my screen protector and silicon case. Reapplied and installed and its been working since my last post. Strange but i am happy besides seus not detecting my phone.
     
  9. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    Might sound odd but try on a different pc/laptop. Had this prob with my netbook not recognising it (altho it did once before!) but works fine on PC.
     
  10. the-dude

    the-dude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    I have the exact same problem. Tried everything, from deleting data to rebranding the phone with a newer rom. Nothing seems to work. It's odd to think it's a hardware issue since it is really random. Sometimes it'll work well for hours. Sometimes, the buttons will lockup really often.

    I did find out that keeping the home button pressed for a few seconds (10~20) usually gets the buttons to work again. Pretty weird.

    Any ideas on what could be causing this, as it seems several people have the same problem?
     
  11. grittani

    grittani Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    3
    10
    8
    i have the exact same problem and i dont use a case...
    anyone have any fixes?!?! this is ridiculous!!!
     
  12. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    The only thing you could try is a reset/repair via Sony Ericsson Update Service but this will wipe your phone so make sure you have backed up contacts to SD card or have them synced. Apps you can reinstall from the market (paid apps are tied to your gmail account so make sure you use the same one when you set the phone back up).

    If this doesn't solve it you may need to get it looked at by your carrier/retailer under warranty.
     
  13. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Get it returned asap if it's still happening after repairing/reflashing.
     
  14. grittani

    grittani Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    3
    10
    8
    i tried restoring and still no luck... any other solutions?

    i got the phone a couple months ago from rogers, i still have the box and bill, anyone know their policies towards situations like this?
     
  15. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    Your Sony Warranty is still valid so they should be able to repair if Rogers aren't very helpful but I'm sure it was forum user 'Uchi' who got a new unit from Rogers when he was having huge problems with his phone. Have a look at his thread New Phone Has Arrived (or words to that effect). Give them a call and tell them it needs repairing/replacing.
     
  16. pgsyogi

    pgsyogi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    got the very same issue - and my operator is so ******ed, they cant even accept my phone for replacement as - acording to the company that was "fixing" my phone - there is no such flaw...
    so now they want to send my phone for another expertise to the very same company and im pretty sure they wont find sh**...
    funny how no other X10 at my store was showing the same behavior

    unless some1 has a fix for it :)

    oh and btw i found a fix for it (altho it's not perma fix) - i simply put it into the case and smack it once with a palm of my hand (on the battery side) and it seems to work just fine - no reset needed, no nothing but it only least for about 10 minutes :(
     
  17. alexcp2009

    alexcp2009 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi. Got the same problem with the buttons not working but with a small difference. Got this 4 months ago as a contract upgrade on Vodafone and it was all fine until it started to reboot by itself. GPS, wireless or even in a middle of a conversation or while browsing. phoned Vodafone and they said to send it for repair as it was in warranty . Not only that they didn`t fixed the problem but when i`ve got it back the back cover was missing and the buttons were not responding !?! I was gutted ... :eek::mad: in the last 2 days I`m trying to get them on the phone but no results. What can I do ... Oh and I can`t use the Sony Ericsson Upgrade System as the phone doesn`t go into boot mode anymore ...
     
  18. Xuser123

    Xuser123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012

    Mar 2, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    hey buddy i had the same problem my buttons on Xperia X10i stoped working after 2min when it boot up.and i have searched alot on internet but then i got one post that said there could be any button that remain pressed in orignal case.i slightly removed my front case and it started working.down volume key was pressed with that orignal case.now my all buttons are working fine.if i put the case down to its orignal setting it stops working :p
     
  19. talon8585

    talon8585 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012

    Mar 16, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I was having this problem as well, but i found a solution!
    POP OUT THE CAMERA BUTTON ON THE SIDE OF THE PHONE

    A few months back, i accidentally dropped my phone. The main function keys stopped working immediately afterwards. They would eventually start working again, and then stop. Mine havent worked in the last 2 months, til i read something about 'if other key sensors are depressed, none of the other keys will work'. I was at my limit of frustration so i took a nail file and popped off the camera key on the side. It worked immediately after. It makes sense now, because the camera function key would never work. Im sure you could get away with popping it out (without taking it right off) and still have it work.

    Cheers mates :D
     
  20. Rubidoobs

    Rubidoobs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    The ribbon has broken on the "Menu, Home and Back" button on my Sony Xperia X10 and I was wondering if you can reassign the camera button to be the back button?
    Thanks
     
  21. Sam-SonyXperia

    Sam-SonyXperia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    1,042
    151
    153
    Unfortunately we do not have a supported method of remapping the hardware keys like this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...