1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Buying a used TB, how to activate?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RadYOacTiVe, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. RadYOacTiVe

    RadYOacTiVe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,588
    416
    163
    Male
    I'm thinking about looking for a used TB for my wife and want to know how the activation is handled with a used TB since *228 is no longer the procedure for 4G phones.

    If it can be done online or on the phone without a CSR, that would be great.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    278
    23
    38
    Yes, can definitely be done online. That's how I did mine. Bought just before closing on Friday and activated later at home. If you have access to your account online, login and hit Device Upgrade and just follow the steps. Once you enter the imei number, it should know that it's a tb and will guide you accordingly.
     
    RadYOacTiVe likes this.
  3. offanairplane

    offanairplane Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    550
    40
    68
    TX
    How many used TB's could be out there this early?
     
    redraider1 likes this.
  4. RadYOacTiVe

    RadYOacTiVe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,588
    416
    163
    Male
    KJJB, thanks for the info!

    There are a few floating around craigslist. I am in a 4G area but my bro is not and I have a search set up in the Craigsnotifca app for his area and I can have him broker the deal for me. Looking in a non 4G area is probably the best bet.
     
  5. rogue_slc_vzw_rep

    rogue_slc_vzw_rep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    328
    28
    63
    If theyve activated it on another line before selling it to you then you need to go to a store and get another sim card but other than that youre good to go
     
    RadYOacTiVe likes this.
  6. RadYOacTiVe

    RadYOacTiVe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,588
    416
    163
    Male
    What is the cost for a sim card?
     
  7. rogue_slc_vzw_rep

    rogue_slc_vzw_rep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    328
    28
    63

    They're free
     
  8. RadYOacTiVe

    RadYOacTiVe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,588
    416
    163
    Male
    Sweet, thanks for the quick reply.
     
  9. rogue_slc_vzw_rep

    rogue_slc_vzw_rep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    328
    28
    63
  10. drewcam888

    drewcam888 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yeah you will need a sim card. And more than likely the store won't just give you one. They will want the phone and want to do the activation themselves
     
  11. rogue_slc_vzw_rep

    rogue_slc_vzw_rep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    328
    28
    63
    If the store won't give you one they are being silly. Call tech support and they'll mail you one for free with 2 day shipping.
     

Share This Page

Loading...