1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

BYOD in Atlanta?

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by Mexjoker, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    I just got a message from metro saying "Bring your unlocked AT&T iPhone to MetroPCS and start saving money! Nationwide 4G network, unlimited data, talk & text from $40/month. See store for details."
     

    Advertisement

  2. mike28

    mike28 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    4,065
    1,058
    513
    Male
    Tampa
    Atlanta was added at the beginning of the month where you been man :D:D
     
  3. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    SAVE money My Ass. :rolleyes:

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  4. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia

    Studying.. A lot. Lol

    Well I need to check up on this...
     
    mike28 likes this.
  5. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    Finally somebody else who lives in atlanta lol. But I got the text too and was wondering do the corporate stores charge an activation fee. And I guess the authorized dealers finally have the SIM cards, because when I went up there on Monday they said they wouldn't have then until Friday.
     
  6. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    I can walk to an authorized dealer tomorrow and see if they have done available. What other phones can be put on metro?
     
  7. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    Any type of unlocked att phones. ( I have an unlocked galaxy s2 skyrocket) & all or most tmobile phones. The tmobile phones don't have to be unlocked though.
     
    mike28 and Mexjoker like this.
  8. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    So are you going to use the skyrocket on Metro?
     
  9. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    Yes. I have an lg connect 4g im trying to get rid of first though.
     
  10. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Thought about putting an ad on craigslist?
     
  11. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    Just did. Its $25 to get the byod at an authorized dealer. $10 for sim $15 for activation. That's why I'm trynna see does the corporate stores charge for activation.
     
  12. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    They are supposed to.

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  13. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Well when you do get it connected can you tell me how the signal is?
     
  14. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    Will do
     
    Mexjoker likes this.
  15. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    Just left the metro pcs store. And got my skyrocket turned on. Speed tests are as followed. It took about 30mins for 4g to settle in. I'm in Conyers,ga right now and I know when I get back on the south side speeds will be better.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Awesome! Hopefully I might do the same. Was it an authorized dealer or a corporate store?
     
  17. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    It was an Authorized Dealer. The total equalled to be $26.50.
     
  18. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    I live in near Jonesboro so hopefully the speeds may be faster here. Now I wonder if someone flashes the rom for the intended carrier or what? :thinking:
     
  19. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    Looking at that screen shot I would say thats on refarmed HSPA and not on LTE and considering that the phone should not have AWS HSPA your actual downloads can very by quite a bit.

    Do you see its only getting 2 bars of service, now consider that refarmed (1900) wont have the DC so your looking at (with full bars) under 15mbs.

    Now when you have a LTE signal your speeds should be damn good.
     
    Mexjoker likes this.
  20. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Laymans term please? :p
     
  21. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    I had LTE For a quick second but not long enough to get a speedtest. I'm kinda in the country. But when I get back to college park I note I'll have a constant lte signal. Is Hspa+ the 4g icon?
     
  22. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    :p:D

    OK simplest terms with the phone he is using he does not get tmobiles normal HSPA+ but because tmobile has reworked some of the towers to broadcast HSPA on 1900 frequency, AT&T normal frequency he will pick up faster speeds then what he would if he lived where 1900 is only broadcasting edge signal (2G)

    But the SkyRocket is LTE capable and at&t uses 700 mhz and AWS (1700/2100) for LTE which is good because tmobile uses AWS (1700/2100).

    So for recap he can pick up LTE if he is near a LTE ready tower and it will be fast. but for the rest of the time its going to be under 14mbs down probably under 8mbs down
     
    BigKeenan likes this.
  23. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    any HSPA is the 4G icon. with your phone you will not really get HSPA + that requires DC which the skyrocket does not have.
     
  24. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Thanks! Haha :D

    So I will have to get a phone that can use AWS 1700/2100?
     
  25. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Just checked the coverage and I have good 4G LTE coverge where I'm at.
     

Share This Page

Loading...