1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Bypass Activation Screen Droid Eris Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stepprichard, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. stepprichard

    stepprichard Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Hello, Was wondering if anyone knew how to get pass the activation screen on the Droid Eris to view the phone? I know on the Motorola Droid u can bypass by touching each corner of the screen, but this does not seem to work on the Eris. anyone have any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. large

    large Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    13
    4
    16
    I know that this is an old thread but I just had this same problem and I found a solution. I am visiting family in Canada and I reloaded 2.1v3 and did a factory reset. Unfortunately it prompted me to activate my phone and I couldn't because I was out of the country (it dialed *228 and that connected to Rogers in Canada).

    I was able to bypass this by holding power and going into airplane mode then restarting the activation... this time it didn't even ask and just continued with everything else. I was able to connect to wifi and my phone is working again.

    hope this helps.
     
  3. Duce22

    Duce22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    hey large i tried that but it only told me that "To place a call,first take phone out of air plane mode.
     
  4. gospodinwizard

    gospodinwizard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    84
    4
    16
    I had this problem before. Odd as it seems, I bypassed it by pressing the four corners of the screen:

    1. top left
    2. top right
    3. bottom right
    4. bottom left

    To be fair, I'm not 100% sure of the order (it was awhile) ago but I am sure it was in a circlish pattern.
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
  6. SirKronan

    SirKronan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1,292
    196
    143
    Psychosocial rehabilitation specialist
    In a house
    That went bye bye. Any other source for that? I want to get my Eris all setup for my wife before having to shut off her current phone - ROMs, launchers, apps, etc. She's going to want it working like a charm with all she'll need and without the stock BS.

    Any help here??
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    No direct experience, but MrShadow posted this just the other day:

    http://androidforums.com/eris-suppo...help-getting-pass-activation.html#post1991633

    Cheers!
     
    SirKronan likes this.
  8. cell2011

    cell2011 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    479
    38
    43
    Male
    caregiver/laborer
    charleston WV
    Stuck at problem with activation screen? How do you bypass that i hit try again it goes to 228 but says out of range doesnt dial. Im just using it for wifi anyways just to goof around but cant get it past that screen. Please anyone help
     
  9. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Lots of threads out here re. this...various methods with varying success...

    Check this one out:

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/429804-using-eris-after-hard-reset-wifi-device-only.html

    and this one:

    http://androidforums.com/eris-support-troubleshooting/350723-activating-eris-without-having-3g-service.html

    Good luck and cheers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...