1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Cache Cleaner and Busy Box

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by islandiver, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. islandiver

    islandiver Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    46
    0
    15
    Does anyone know if I actually have to root my phone for the app Cache Cleaner to work? I installed it but it's telling me I need the app Busy Box for it to run properly. What does Busy Box do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Yes, Cache Cleaner requires root.
     
  3. tproctor

    tproctor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    179
    29
    43
    R&D Technician
    Pampa, Tx
    You have to have root for it to work. Thanks though, it makes it so much easier to clear the cache now.

    I'm not really sure what Busy Box does, but I needed to install Autokiller also.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    Busybox is a Linux application that provides a small executable that provides most of the Linux command line utilities in a very small package - great for an embedded Linux-based phone like Android.

    See BusyBox
     

Share This Page

Loading...