1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Call home from abroad

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KShanahan, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. KShanahan

    KShanahan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I am currently in Portugal on T-mobile network. I am with a number of other people who are on different networks with different handsets. Everyone else is able to dial their UK contacts without needing to edit them to add +44. Their contacts are just 07xxx xxxxxx.

    On the other hand if I dial the same contact on my HTC Desire I go through to some unfortunate Portuguese person. I have looked at all settings but can't find an option. I would rather just dial a contact without having to edit them (and editing isn't as easy as it would seem either!)

    Does anyone have a suggestion?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nacatomi

    nacatomi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    502
    82
    78
    Ive never been able to do this without the +44 on any phone or network.
     
  3. KShanahan

    KShanahan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    One guy has an iPhone on Vodafone, there is a samsung on Tesco, a couple of non-symbian Nokias on Orange and all of them are able to know that they want to phone UK contacts and dial through automatically. I seem remember my old N96 used to be able to do it also. There was me bigging up my Android and then got shot down! I tried adding United Kingdom to the country in the contact and that didn't work either. :(
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...