1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Call quality with Froyo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kori_Tamashii, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    So, after the much anticipated Froyo update... my call quality went dramatically south. It's terrible.

    Anyone else with this issue?
     

    Advertisement

  2. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    585
    140
    113
    Male
    Electromagnetic Field Engineer
    Pacific Beach / Crown Point, San Diego
    How does it sound now? Like others described with 2.1?
     
  3. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    Basically. Garbled sounding from the other end, missed syllables. Very annoying :mad:
     
  4. kisby

    kisby Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    110
    23
    38
    Male
    My quality has gone up - so far. I made a crystal clear call from my basement this morning. Before Froyo, I had the problems you mentioned about garbled sounds and missed syllables.

    I've only had froyo for a few hours, so the jury's still out.
     
  5. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    585
    140
    113
    Male
    Electromagnetic Field Engineer
    Pacific Beach / Crown Point, San Diego
    Wonder if you can manually reupdate it...
     
  6. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    That sounds like... not fun.
     
  7. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    585
    140
    113
    Male
    Electromagnetic Field Engineer
    Pacific Beach / Crown Point, San Diego
    So does....


    This:

    Id look into it.
     
  8. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    Any tips on where to start?
     
  9. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    585
    140
    113
    Male
    Electromagnetic Field Engineer
    Pacific Beach / Crown Point, San Diego
    You already have. Maybe someone will pop in n help.
    Do a search. Ask in a thread pertaining to manually updating. PM a knowledgable person within that thread ifno one helps (maybe just post/send a link to this thread asking them to help). Good luck!
     
  10. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    Working on manually updating now... Time for the hurry up and wait game!
     
  11. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    966
    213
    I have this issue, but I think I'm going to do the *228 thing since that fixed my problem before.
     
  12. dgold82

    dgold82 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    173
    103
    68
    OK, just had a 30 minute conversation in the stairwell at work. It was noticeably better than before. I have barely one bar of reception in there and the call quality was always garbled. This morning it was pretty good for the first time. Jury is still out though. Only have had Froyo since the OTA this morning EST.
     
  13. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    I tried that. Didn't help.

    I manually re-installed Froyo, did *228, and now the call quality seems MUCH better.
     

Share This Page

Loading...