1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

caller ID shows number, slow to show name

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ceruti82, May 28, 2010.

  1. ceruti82

    ceruti82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    79
    1
    16
    Cali
    Is there a way to fix this?

    it will show the number for about 4 or 5 seconds before the contacts name pops up... and sometimes, the contact name wont pop up until i have already answered the call..

    any reason known ??

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    2 possible reasons (as I have personally seen this problem);

    Are you using any dialer apps (Tedds dialer tools, etc.)
    Using a home replacement (Helix, launcher Pro)

    I have found that these sometimes reproduce this problem
     
  3. leftystrat

    leftystrat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Noticed the same problem. Traced it down to Helix2. Replaced it with Helix1 and the problem went away.

    In short, something is eating resources, which aren't available for the phone app.
     
  4. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    496
    53
    73
    I've been noticing this since i switched to Launcher Pro. I just download Autokiller from the Market and I will see if that helps.
     
  5. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    383
    27
    63
    when you run autokiller make sure to put LauncherPro in the excluded list. Also, I run launcherPro also and have this issue on some occasions. To me it is not a big deal because what is a few seconds.
     
  6. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    496
    53
    73
    thanks for the heads up! how do i do that exactly? lol
     
  7. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    383
    27
    63
    with ATK, and system monitor you just click on the application that is running and click exclude. Not sure how it would be done with autokiller...
     
  8. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    ADW launcher does not have this problem as it does not eat cycles the way the others do, and it is not a memory hog.
     
  9. androidskisquash

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Actually, this lag problem started when I added ADW launcher as the home screen.
     
  10. clarence49

    clarence49 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014

    Feb 20, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    If you are a rogers customer, disabling the Rogers 1 Contacts app fixes the issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...