1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Caller Ringtone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by philayl, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. philayl

    philayl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    926
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    926
    279
    143
    Male
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Hi, since I updated to JB 4.3 I can't seem to attach a specific ringtone to a particular contact, I've tried doing it the way it worked in 4.1.2, but there doesn't seem to be an option to attach a music track to an individual contact, it will only allow me to change the ringtone for all incoming calls, can anyone tell me how to do this. Phil
     

    Advertisement

  2. ilovethebeach

    ilovethebeach Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    171
    24
    38
    Go to the contact; choose ringtone; press ok.
     
  3. philayl

    philayl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    926
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    926
    279
    143
    Male
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Hi, unfortunately I don't have that option in the menu menu. Phil
     
  4. grunt0300

    grunt0300 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #121
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012

    Dec 11, 2012
    590
    179
    113
    Male
    Retired Postal Worker
    Nokomis, Florida
    O.K. When you go to the individual contact, and press ringtone, what does the menu say? Can you attach a photo, so i can see what the problem is?:)
     
  5. philayl

    philayl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    926
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    926
    279
    143
    Male
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Hi, I mean there isn't a ringtone option anywhere in the screen or menu, the option disappeared when I "upgraded" to 4.3, never had a problem with 4.1.2 Phil
    p.s. I don't know how to attach a screenshot.
     
  6. grunt0300

    grunt0300 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #121
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012

    Dec 11, 2012
    590
    179
    113
    Male
    Retired Postal Worker
    Nokomis, Florida
    The problem could be within the contacts app that you are using. Is it the stock one, or one that you downloaded from the play store?
    When you hold down the power button, you should get an option for screenshot.:)
     
  7. doc1964

    doc1964 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    302
    79
    53
    Male
    Scotland
    Try going to the song you want rather than the contact. In the music menus when the song is selected, look at the options (bottom left hand key) and you will have the option of using the song as phone ringtone or adding it as an individual contacts ringtone.
     
  8. philayl

    philayl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    926
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    926
    279
    143
    Male
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Hi grunt0300, I am using the stock contacts app.

    Hi doc1964, that is how I used to do it under 4.1.2, but that option is no longer available, using the stock Samsung music player there is only the option to change the ringtone for all incoming calls, not individuals. Phil
     
  9. grunt0300

    grunt0300 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #121
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012

    Dec 11, 2012
    590
    179
    113
    Male
    Retired Postal Worker
    Nokomis, Florida
    It's not the music player. Try this...Make sure that your ringtone folder is on the internal memory of the phone. Just as a test, go into play store, and download GoSMS Pro messaging app, and Go Contacts EX. Now, open up a contact from Go Contacts EX, and see if you have the menu to add a particular ringtone. I've been using those apps for years, with no problems, and they're free. Good luck.:)
     
  10. doc1964

    doc1964 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    302
    79
    53
    Male
    Scotland
    I have 4.3 on my S3 and have set individual ringtones from music player. Once I have selected a song to play and click on menu button, I have the option to "set as" with 3 further options, Phone ringtone, Caller ringtone or alarm ringtone. Cant think why this would have been removed. Good luck with finding a solution.
     
  11. philayl

    philayl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    926
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    926
    279
    143
    Male
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Hi all, thanks for all your advice, I ended up doing a factory reset, which I didn't do after the upgrade to 4.3, and everything now appears to be fine. Phil
     
  12. grunt0300

    grunt0300 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #121
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012

    Dec 11, 2012
    590
    179
    113
    Male
    Retired Postal Worker
    Nokomis, Florida
    Good luck with it.:)
     
  13. doc1964

    doc1964 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    302
    79
    53
    Male
    Scotland
    I always do a reset more after any update as I found there were usually some issues until I did. Glad you got it sorted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...