1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Calling Problems

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by TheAria, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. TheAria

    TheAria Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I am using an unlocked HTC Aria on T-mobile,
    It has signal, but every time I call or send a text it says it failed.
    Please help me.
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,439
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Welcome to AF, have you tried post in the HTC Aria section, I think your question would be best answered there, you will definitely get more looks, HTC Aria - Android Forums ;)



     
  3. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,753
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Will it let you call 611?
     
  4. TheAria

    TheAria Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks, it will not let me call 611.
    It says limited service and emergency calls only.
    Would rooting it help?
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,439
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    If it is hooked up to TMoble have you tried to call them from a landline and have them send a refresh signal


     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,439
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Have you updated the profile and PRL to see if that will work


     
  7. TheAria

    TheAria Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I'm new to the whole Android thing so naturally I don't know how.
    Thanks for the quick replies.

    Edit:
    Now it won't register to tmobile unless I get lucky and it just randomly decides to. It still won't make any calls though, and still says limited service.
     
  8. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    Not sure if this is a phone problem or a Tmobile problem.
     
  9. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,753
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    You need to call T-Mobile tech support. They're the only ones who can help. Possible you need a new SIM.
     
  10. TheAria

    TheAria Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    The sim works on my old phone though.

    I think rooting might fix it.
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,695
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,695
    16,085
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I don't, but it will void your warranty. There are good reasons to root, but that isn't one.
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,439
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    You seem to be hesitant to call T-Mobile, is there a reason for this, I think your issue will be better served if you call T-Mobile, it is hard for us to troubleshoot unless you are able to access the network.

    Call us at: 1-800-T-MOBILE
    1-800-866-2453
     
    Crashdamage likes this.
  13. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    From what it seems, this is either a T-Mobile problem, or a hardware problem. I don't think its a ROM problem, but rooting won't fix it if its a ROM problem. Flashing a new ROM may (which can be done with rooting), but you can also do a firmware recovery using Kies which does not require root, and is basically the same thing.
     
  14. mamawm

    mamawm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    204
    48
    63
    i'm by no means an expert here, but is it possible that your phone is in fact NOT unlocked? you could check this by having a friend with at&t stick their sim card into the aria and see if the signal magically appears. if they can't get a signal either then something must have gone amiss in the unlocking process.

    also you cannot use to kies for recovery as kies is samsung only.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,695
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,695
    16,085
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Edit: redundant post
     
  16. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    Whoops sorry. Confused it with the Galaxy Y thread.
     
  17. TheAria

    TheAria Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks everyone for trying to help,
    But I have just returned the phone because I didn't think it was gonna work out.
     
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,532
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,532
    8,439
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    What did they say, did they try and test the phone ??



     

Share This Page

Loading...