1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps Calling Random Classes

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by chpsrmne, Aug 31, 2011.

  1. chpsrmne

    chpsrmne Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Im currently working on an app that will work kind of like a quiz. What I am trying/hoping to accomplish is to have a random sound file played and have a couple of options to correctly match to the sound clip. The biggest problem I am having is calling the random sound file. I could get them to go in order but after a few times you could just memorize the answers. I was wondering if there was a way to randomly call a class or if there is a better way that I may not be thinking of. Kind of hit a wall and any help would be appreciated. Thanks in andvance

    Chpsrmne
     

    Advertisement

  2. Velvet Void

    Velvet Void Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    You could use Java's Random Class and use its nextInt(n) function, with a switch statement to choose the next sound file and questions.

    Example code: (I didn't run this, should work though)

    Code (Text):
    1. import java.util.Random;
    2.  
    3. public class YourClass
    4. {
    5.      private static final int MAX_NUMBER=5; //number of sounds
    6.      private Random rnd= new Random(); //declaring random number generator and initializing it
    7.  
    8.      private void choose ()
    9.      {
    10.           //choose a random number from 0 to (1 below MAX_NUMBER)
    11.           switch(rnd.nextInt(MAX_NUMBER))
    12.           {
    13.                 case 0:
    14.                           // if 1st sound is picked, do stuff
    15.                          break;
    16.                 case 1:
    17.                           // if 2nd sound is picked, do stuff
    18.                          break;
    19.                 case 2:
    20.                           // if 3rd sound is picked, do stuff
    21.                          break;
    22.                 case 3:
    23.                           // if 4th sound is picked, do stuff
    24.                          break;
    25.                 case 4:
    26.                           // if 5th sound is picked, do stuff
    27.                          break;
    28.                 //keep going until you have a case for each sound
    29.                 //in this case with MAX_NUMBER at 5, I would stop at 4
    30.           }
    31.      }
    32. }
    Just add in the declaration and a similar method into the class you're using and that should work
     
  3. chpsrmne

    chpsrmne Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    seems lilke it could work, ill give it a try.

    Thanks for the suggestion!

    -Chpsrmne
     

Share This Page

Loading...