1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

calling thru skype

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by wuwear, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. wuwear

    wuwear Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008

    Nov 23, 2008
    3
    0
    5
    online business development
    indy
    im a new g1 owner and i have heard that you can call anyone thru the data plan instead of using your minutes. Is this true? if so how? and what are some concerns and limitations to doing this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    Finally!

    Skype lite is on the market!!!!
     
  3. philje123

    philje123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008

    Dec 3, 2008
    6
    0
    5
    Just read through the info on the skype site... only the instant messaging uses the data plan... calls use your call allowance with your network by the looks.

    Phil
     
  4. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    Yeah I noticed that too, waste of time installing it.
     
  5. philje123

    philje123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008

    Dec 3, 2008
    6
    0
    5
    Depends how much you use skype messages etc.

    I know a few people with three skype phones so will be handy for that and will allow calling to different countries for the cost of a local call (will just come off free minutes) and its certainly a bit smoother and sleeker than the iSkoot app that I had before.

    Phil
     
  6. erickn

    erickn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009

    Jan 8, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    This is more trouble than its worth, but couldn't you design an app to use your G1 as a WiFi router and use a skype phone to make your calls?
     
  7. m0rk

    m0rk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008

    Dec 28, 2008
    16
    0
    15
    is skype lite a genuine skype app?

    I don't fancy inputting my username & PW into an unknown public app
     
  8. cubby27

    cubby27 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008

    Oct 28, 2008
    7
    0
    5
    It is definitely Skype. I downloaded it yesterday, put in my username and password, and it showed me my online contacts. I could have dialed or texted any of them quite easily.

    Of course, I was hoping to use this kind of application while overseas, using a wifi connection to make a call, as I would using a laptop. Apparently this program won't do that with our G1s. So taking the laptop along will be necessary after all. Not a huge deal, it just would have been handy on the G1.
     
  9. bestivo

    bestivo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    0
    15
    Kinda lame in a way that you can't use voip ...... :( Still good in some cases - cheap overseas calls (you can also use calling card for this) or almost free calls to somebody on skype (just using your minutes but almost everyone has unlimited night & weeknds).

    This is true not just for the G1 but also for all the other phones which got Skype Light Beta (java version)
     

Share This Page

Loading...