1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Camera App = Black screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kryx, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. Kryx

    Kryx Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Please can any one tell me how to fix this lol. I tried every thing radios from 5.10 , 5.9.08 etc.


    Tried diffrent Roms (OD,leedroid,Defrost)

    Reformated SD card

    wipe and factory reset.


    Still nothing even when I try 3rd party apps like fx camera and retro. the app opens but when I choose to use the camera it pops up thing to force close.

    When I choose camera app screen goes black, and I have to press the home button to go back.

    SLCD screen
    Recovery 2.5.0.7



    any advice plz.

    I dont not have the Original Telus Rom.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kryx

    Kryx Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    no one has any ideas...
     
  3. Kryx

    Kryx Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    ...guess im the only one with this problem lol
     
  4. Mutley84

    Mutley84 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have the exact problem...
     
  5. mclupy

    mclupy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    no you're not, i'm having the same problem!

    - default camera
    - retro
    - barcode readers
    - fxcamera...

    With all the apps that make use of the camera, I just get a black screen.
     
  6. fryc86

    fryc86 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    Has there been any update on this problem? I have the same issue. Stock camera, Camera360, barcode scanner... anything that I've tried that needs to open/initialize the camera just goes to a black screen for a moment then shows the force close dialogue.
     
  7. mukpar

    mukpar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have the exact same problem. Factory reset didn't work either..
     
  8. speedycolzalez

    speedycolzalez Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    513
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    Take the lens cap off... :D
     
  9. arolaser

    arolaser Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I have this problem as well. I think it may be a hardware fault as I have also experienced problems with: Proximity sensor, light sensor, notification LED (don't work); and the camera flash (works intermittently/randomly).
     
  10. JaneN

    JaneN Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    34
    0
    15
    What happened to everyone who had this problem? I have also noticed that the camera app is not using any memory, so looks like some auto update has wiped it. Anyone get the camera app to download from somewhere?
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The camera app is included in android on the system partition. Apps you install are on the data partition ("internal memory").

    You cannot delete or replace the camera app as system is read only. If you see it in manage applications then its there. If you press the camera app and it does anything other than produce an error, its also there. Some ota updates can mess things up. Usually a factory reset fixes those issues
     
  12. JaneN

    JaneN Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    34
    0
    15
    Thanks, sadly a factory reset did not work, and UPS are collecting the phone in the morning for ANOTHER return to HTC repair. :mad:


    Fingers crossed it is back in time for my holiday :(
     
  13. supermage87

    supermage87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    can anyone post what they finaly change on the phone.
    dit they only change the camera module, the led or both of them. or Nether thanks for helping others to when you solve your problem ^^
     
  14. MrBigToez

    MrBigToez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011

    Nov 7, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    ive got exactly the same problem.

    tried factory reset. still doesnt work. Its pissing me off now!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...