1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Camera app saving to 2 locations randomly

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by FLAWLESSVW, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. FLAWLESSVW

    FLAWLESSVW Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    185
    30
    43
    Male
    Business Intelligence Analyst, SQL Developer
    Cleveland, OH
    It's driving me nuts. I am using vignette as my camera app (good app).

    Can someone please tell me the difference between /mnt/sdcard/external_sd/dcim/camera and
    /sdcard/external_sd/dcim/camera

    Those are the 2 locations it's saving to. No rhyme or reason to it either. It irritates me because there are 2 folders in my gallery too.

    When I browse to EITHER of those locations in ES, they are identical, there are 1084 items.

    But when I view in gallery. One location has 1050 and the other has 24.

    Is it the app?
    My sd card?
    The file system?

    Grr... Help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    do you have some left over pics on the internal memory. I had a double gallery for pictures but once i cleaned it up and set the storage to card I am doing ok now. I know that stock ICS has a weird way of showing the external card as a folder in the internal one. FK23~GA10JB doesn't do that.
     
  3. FLAWLESSVW

    FLAWLESSVW Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    185
    30
    43
    Male
    Business Intelligence Analyst, SQL Developer
    Cleveland, OH
    I did at one point but moved the pics to sd.

    But it's not saving to internal ever. It's just adding that "/mnt/" to the beginning of the external sd path for some crazy reason. I don't understand why it is tacking that I there randomly. It makes no sense.

    Let me know if you've got any other ideas cg.
     
  4. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Use a different camera app and see if it puts the pic in 2 places. If it doesn't then its the app which I'm guessing it is..

    If it does than see if u have two galleries... If not maybe try freezing one of your camera apps see if that fixes it
     
    FLAWLESSVW likes this.
  5. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    You could try clearing the data on your camera app then re setup the settings for your camera
     
    FLAWLESSVW likes this.
  6. FLAWLESSVW

    FLAWLESSVW Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    185
    30
    43
    Male
    Business Intelligence Analyst, SQL Developer
    Cleveland, OH
    The default/stock camera app always seems to save to the /mnt/sdcard/external_sd/dcim/camera

    If you guys look at your photos in the Gallery and view the details, do you show the /mnt/sdcard/...... or just /sdcard/.... ?

    I am leaning towards contacting the app dev the more I troubleshoot it. 2 libraries just irritates me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...