1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Camera apparently opens twice when double tapping the power button... Why?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Member2047631, Feb 27, 2018.

  1. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Advertisement

  2. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,943
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Quick access :)
     
  3. Jhayzone

    Jhayzone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015

    Oct 21, 2015
    384
    223
    118
    Some device have this option. Check your phone settings, maybe there is a way to turn it off if you don't like it.
     
  4. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No, I mean it opens two
     
  5. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Did you watch the video?
     
  6. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    If you didn't understand the video then;
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I know that double tapping the power button opens the camera, I set it like that, but it opens two, check the picture
     
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    You have 2 camera apps installed? It's probably opening both of them then. Disable one and test again.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  9. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No, I don't you don't seem to get it.
     
  10. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    You can even see it's the same app. That's why I said it opens two of the same app.
     
  11. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Ok. What happenshap you opop the camera application manually? Does it open twice also?
     
  12. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  13. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    My camera only has 5 mega pixels
     
  14. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    So I would guess that if you only have one camera app, which opens once when manually opened, twice when double tapping the power button, there is either a glitch in the OS, or some setting in the camera app itself.
    If all acts normal, this may be something you just have to accept.

    Just another thought here, if applicable, is there an HDR setting in the camera app you could turn off and try opening via the power button to see if it opens twice?
     
  15. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,257
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,257
    40,011
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    What happens if you only tap the power button once? I know the feature is a double tap, but from the complaints about various Lenovo features, their developers aren't on the ball.
     
  16. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Tapping once turns on/off the device

    Which one should I use?

    I don't understand why 1080p is an option even though my device doesn't support 1080p
     

    Attached Files:

    #16 Member2047631, Feb 28, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2018
  17. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,257
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,257
    40,011
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Maybe the camera does, but the screen doesn't? That would be silly. Not surprising, but silly.
     
  18. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    But what should I choose in the red circle?

    The quality isn't good really

    IMG_20180228_111649.jpg Here's a picture taken with it just now
     
    #18 Member2047631, Feb 28, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2018
  19. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,257
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,257
    40,011
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The red circle ... Doesn't really matter it's just the aspect ratio of the image. Both will be 5 MP. One will be more of a rectangle.

    The image does look a little "soft" but it's probably because the photo is inside and the ISO is compensating for low light levels, plus there are a lot of jpg artifacts.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  20. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Should I keep it at 1080p? Would it make it look better even if it's reduced to 720p on my tablet? Or would 720p be better...?
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,257
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,257
    40,011
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    "looking better" is a personal preference. Try it both ways and set it to what you like.
     
  22. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It says 'video size'
     
  23. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    .
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I couldn't tell a difference in the 'dark' even though it's not dark, the camera just thinks it's incredibly dark for some reason... 720p is definitely smaller
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

Share This Page

Loading...