1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Camera Doesn't Work, Displays Blank Screen- Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AHWagner, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. AHWagner

    AHWagner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    Yesterday I was listening to Pandora and I wanted to snap a picture with my EVO, so I hit the 'Home' button and then opened the Camera app. After that the little camera icon showed in the middle of the screen for a second or two and disappeared. Next the screen was blank. I also tried the camcorder and the screen was also blank. I've done many resets/pulling the battery out and I still have no luck. Any ideas as to what is causing my camera to not work at all? The only way to exit out of the blank screen is to press the 'Home' button on the phone. :(

    Thanks for the help!

    UPDATE/EDIT: I uninstalled Pandora and now it works.

    UPDATE #2: It seems like it work once and now it doesn't work at all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Have you completed soft resets (basically power cycling) or a hard reset?
     
  3. AHWagner

    AHWagner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    Soft resets involves holding ther power button down and selecting power off, correct? Yes, I've done that many many times.
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    ???

    if yes on both accounts you need to take your phone in to a service repair center and see whats up
     
  5. AHWagner

    AHWagner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    Haven't done a hard reset yet. I'm letting that be my last option, but it looks like that's what I'm going to have to do :(
     
  6. AHWagner

    AHWagner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    I just did a hard reset and I still have the problem.
     
  7. AHWagner

    AHWagner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    Well I went to Sprint and they said that the camera defect is covered under HTC's 1 year warranty. They said I pay a $35 deductible because I don't have insurance on my EVO.
     
  8. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    i am one of the few that still don't believe that this $35 fee is being charged accordingly. it was my understanding that the fee is charged if a user damages their phone. feel free to ask to speak to the manager and to see the description/policy of this fee in person.

    be respectful. i have never seen the full policy regarding this fee...but what I have found on the web leads me to believe that they are simply charging it for everything.


    and in your case...$35 sure beats having to buy another phone.

    if you can get a copy of the policy that would be awesome. then I can stop posting my doubts :)
     
  9. AHWagner

    AHWagner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    I'll try and get a copy for you. They made me pay the $35 upfront, so when I pick up my EVO next week, I'll ask them about it.
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
  11. AHWagner

    AHWagner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    ^ I read it and commented. Thanks for the link also!
     
  12. muzicman82

    muzicman82 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    I am having this problem too. Any fixes? Please tell me it's not bad hardware. I've had this phone for less than 20 hours.

    When I launch Camera, I immediately get a blank/black screen. I can hit Home a few times to get out of it, but the process is still running.
     
  13. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    If you have tried the above soft and hard resets and it has not fixed the problem I would take it into a sprint store

    at your first day with the phone there should be no fee installed. If they try and charge you ask for the manager and mention the 30 day return policy, return it and buy another one
     
  14. AHWagner

    AHWagner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    ^muzicman82, listen to what Mr. Ed said.
     
  15. muzicman82

    muzicman82 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    I'll try a hard reset again... The camera worked fine when I got it. Is this a common or known problem with no fix? Seems like everything I've read points to having to get it replaced..
     
  16. dbastl

    dbastl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    24
    11
    18
    I'm having similar problems. After a soft reset, I can start up the camera app and shoot pictures. If I try to switch to the front facing camera, it goes black and freezes up like others have described in this thread. After I force close the app, if I try to open the app back up, I get the camera icon for one second and then back to home screen. Very frustrating.
     
  17. muzicman82

    muzicman82 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    When I had the problem, I didn't even have the on-screen menus that let you switch cameras. I got it replaced in the Sprint store, no questions asked... but I only had the phone for 36 hours.
     
  18. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    Wait, so even if it's covered under the two year warranty Sprint charges you to fix it? That's a little ridiculous...
     
  19. muzicman82

    muzicman82 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    I'm not sure. When I had an HTC Touch Pro, there was a known issue with the plastic chrome edges chipping away. It didn't affect the phone operation at all, purely cosmetic. However, I called Sprint customer service about it and they sent me a brand new phone (not even refurbed).

    My suggestion is that if you have any doubts about whether it'd be covered, call Sprint. They're much more willing to handle issues than stores. You could try calling a Sprint store anonymously to see what they say.
     
  20. dinkoh

    dinkoh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    My camera has been working well, but one day it just went blank like the OP describes. Hard reset and everything doesn't work. I don't think it has anything to do with SD card either.
     
  21. aznprelude

    aznprelude Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    6
    0
    5



    just call up HTC. they will send u a new phone, nextday air, that way u will always have a phone, NO CHARGE!!. i really dont know why sprint charge cuz u r using warranty...???
     
  22. muzicman82

    muzicman82 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    Yeah, with my Touch Pro2, Sprint handled the warranty claim. I wonder if it was only because it was a "known" issue, and a less popular device. If HTC handles warranty claims NDA, that would be even better.
     
  23. NaCo

    NaCo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    open your htc evo. Use a special screwdriver. Now check the lens of the camera and push it backwards. good luck
     
  24. givehope

    givehope Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011

    Oct 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    HURRAY I found solution, hopefully for you also!

    structure:
    - my issue
    - not working solutions
    - solution
    - conclusion


    my issue:
    - after launching camera (no matter in which app) just blank screen, back button, menu button do not work only home. I used original ROM, no adaptions, no intrusion, package new. I installed couple apps from Market.

    not working solution:
    - hard reset (erase sd, erase mobile)
    - downgrade to older ROM

    working solution:
    - I flashed new ROM and made deletion by Super wipe, after whalaaa works!!

    conclusion:
    - good news, it is not HW thing, probably superwipe helps, when hard reset is not enough. Note that I had gingerbread, I downgraded to older system first, without superwipe - camera still did not work. Then superwipe and new rom (revolution hd) and works like it did..

    hope I helped.
     
  25. ouzunlar

    ouzunlar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Could you please share superwipe download link that you have used?
    Thanks in advance.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...