1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Camera firmware issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LordVader, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. LordVader

    LordVader Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Anyone else having issues with there camera. Mine says there is a firmware update but it keeps failing. The camera won't work until the firmware is instaled. Tried clearing data from camera application but it didn't work.
     

    Advertisement

  2. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    When you go to use camera it wants to do a firmware update?

    My camera works fine.

    Version TF201-0x9891

    ...?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I am at work on duty... not my house. Lol
     
  3. LordVader

    LordVader Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    It says I have the firmware update. When I try to download it fails. When I try to use camera it says I first need to update to newest firmware.
     
  4. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL

    Oh. Before I got mine, I had read that someone updated their firmware when they first got theirs. When I opened mine for first time, I tried manually to check for firmware update, and it failed. Left it alone for a couple of hours and it did it on it's own.
     
  5. LordVader

    LordVader Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Apparently I got a dud. Now the auto rotation feature doesn't work as well the camera not functioning. I guess I'll fire off an email to Asus and hope for a speedy fix.
     
  6. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    Did you accidentally turn off /uncheck the auto rotate option?
     
  7. LordVader

    LordVader Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    That's not it. I have checked off an on. Still doesn't work.
     
  8. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    Maybe something here could help?

    ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Eee- ASUS Eee Pad Transformer Prime TF201

    What version is your firmware?

    [Settings]-->[About tablet]-->Build number

    Example: You should be able to see the build number WW_epad-8.X.X.X_2011xxxx, where “WW” means SKU.

    The version they have online is same i upgraded to over the air.

    May want to read all English documents including the file Updated Version of SOP(English)
     
  9. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    One last stupid question, is your Prime synced to your Google account?

    The " Eee Pad Transformer Prime TF201 FAQ (English) " in the download area says it needs to be.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. LordVader

    LordVader Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I spoke to Asus and they said they will fix if I send it back to them. Really pissed that they want me to pay to ship it when it's 3 days old and I already spent a ton on it. Think I'm going to Best Buy to exchange it and get something different.
     
  11. rsmin

    rsmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    136
    11
    38
    Crazy that they are expecting you to pay for shipping on their broke product. My camera is working great. Took a picture in total darkness last night from about 6 feet away from subject and was suprised how well it turned out.

    Also there is an update today. Dont know if it has anything for your camera, but I understand it is supposed to help GPS signal and Wifi. We shall see.
     
  12. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL

    Not that you should have to, but did you try to install the firmware via connecting to PC as outlined in the SOP PDF attached above?
     
  13. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL

    Do you have source for the update info?
     
  14. rsmin

    rsmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    136
    11
    38
  15. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL

    LoL was testing out various browsers and my Prime just started the update. Thanks!

    Now I pray it doesnt brick. Wish I had restarted before installing. Shrug.. Just a machine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...