1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Camera Flash

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dragma, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. dragma

    dragma Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    175
    29
    63
    Male
    Dish Network, Ops Analyst
    Denver, CO
    Well, mine does not work. at least I think it does not. I have used multiple camera apps and flashlight apps to no avail.


    Any one know of a setting that controls it, or is mine just dead?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,942
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,942
    4,920
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    In the Camera App
    Select the Menu key
    S elect Scenes
    Select Auto
    In a low ligh situation the flash should operate. It also does in Night Portrait. In Landscape it does not.

    Let us know how you made out.

    ... Thom
     
  3. dragma

    dragma Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    175
    29
    63
    Male
    Dish Network, Ops Analyst
    Denver, CO
    Still a no go.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,942
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,942
    4,920
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Are you set to the rear-facing lens?

    The right-most option in the Camera App options menu is Flash. Mine is set to Auto Flash.

    It is sensing the ambient light in Auto mode. Try it in a pitch black room as a test.

    ... Thom
     
  5. dragma

    dragma Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    175
    29
    63
    Male
    Dish Network, Ops Analyst
    Denver, CO
    I tried last night outside in total darkness, which is how I figured out the flash was not working.
     
  6. dragma

    dragma Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    175
    29
    63
    Male
    Dish Network, Ops Analyst
    Denver, CO
    Are you set to the rear-facing lens? yes

    The right-most option in the Camera App options menu is Flash. Mine is set to Auto Flash. Mine is set to on.

    It is sensing the ambient light in Auto mode. Try it in a pitch black room as a test. See above post.
     
  7. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,942
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,942
    4,920
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I can't find anything else. Mine is working foir me. You said you tried other Apps and got the samne result. I suggest you take it back to where you got it ...

    ... Thom
     
  8. dragma

    dragma Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    175
    29
    63
    Male
    Dish Network, Ops Analyst
    Denver, CO
    Well, after trying a factory reset, it was still a no go. so getting a replacement. hopefully this will work.
     
  9. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,942
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,942
    4,920
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Let us know ... please ...

    ... Thom
     
  10. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Does you led work at all? Dl droidlight and test it.
     
  11. dragma

    dragma Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    175
    29
    63
    Male
    Dish Network, Ops Analyst
    Denver, CO
    I know you are trying to help, but I thought my initall post would have made it clear.
     
  12. dragma

    dragma Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    175
    29
    63
    Male
    Dish Network, Ops Analyst
    Denver, CO
    got the replacement, flash works, camera is good. the only issue is you can tell it is not a new phone only from a battery pull, the lable on the inside has some cuts where I guess they had to go in to do their work, other then that it is now working like a dream.

    Just have to go in and reinstall everything. Luckily I did a backup, but market does not like it when you install just from an APK file for update purposes.

    Or is there an app for that?
     
  13. Dillweed818

    Dillweed818 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I've noticed that night pictures on my Bionic aren't very clear...MY sister had an HTC Inspire and that phone took awesome nighttime pictures but with the Bionic people seem to be glowing.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I've done some more pics, and when zooming in using the 8MP setting, after about 40% zoom I get pixelation.

    However, the flash works.
     
  15. Dillweed818

    Dillweed818 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I don't think I zoomed at all. This is what it turns out like...
    [​IMG]
     
  16. Dillweed818

    Dillweed818 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    It's just not a very good/clear picture...
     
  17. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Are you set to 6 MP or 8 MP?
     
  18. Dillweed818

    Dillweed818 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Widescreen 6MP
     
  19. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    that is a problem in and of itself - I cannot get good pics at 6MP - only at 8. This was both before and after the .893 updates.

    The camera seems to work better at 8MP, and I have no idea why (unless it is trying to downscale the pictures using software only, and the camera is physically preset to take pics at 8MP only (which would be more than just a little odd.)
     
  20. Dillweed818

    Dillweed818 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    It's almost like the flash is too bright or something. I've messed with it since that night so I don't remember what it was set on while taking those pictures. I think after the first pic though I changed it and took another pic and it was still really bright and glowy...
     
  21. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    distance may be another factor. My DROID hated any pics within a foot of the camera lens. This one may not like anything inside of 3 feet, who knows? :p

    but, to be fair - you were in a bar, right?
     
  22. Dillweed818

    Dillweed818 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Alright well next time I'm out at night I'll try it at 8MP and hopefully it'll work. What is this .893 update? I have a major issue with losing network connection, would this update help? Except I checked for an update and it says my phone is up to date. I think I'm gonig to exchange it for another one...Maybe this one is just a dud :(
     
  23. Dillweed818

    Dillweed818 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Um, yes I was. I guess the beer bottles gave that one away! Hey, it was the night our team won the World Series! That's a good reason in my book to celebrate! :)
     
  24. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    the .893 has been shown to help the majority of users applying it with connection drop rates, but a small minority are complaining that it has either not affected them or made things worse. The reason you don't see it when checking for updates is that it is a leaked official beta update, not hte final update that Motorola will push out to us later on.

    Try the 8MP pics first. Seriously.

    Lol - I'll ignore the WS comment (I live just South of Atlanta, if that is any indication). Seriously, though, what I was alluding to was the fact that bars are smoky even if you cannot see the haziness with your naked eye....flashes will.
     
  25. Dillweed818

    Dillweed818 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Oh...I thought you were referring to the fact that it may have been operator error due to tipsyness! Haha, got it! I'll try the 8MP and see if that works. Wait a second, you can't smoke indoors in Illinois so it wouldn't have been smoke. It could've been operator error! Just kidding, I think I'm pretty tech saavy...Thanks for the pointers
     

Share This Page

Loading...