1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Camera not loading

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TKDCaleb, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. TKDCaleb

    TKDCaleb Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011

    Jan 13, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    My HTC Thunderbolt is rooted and running Liquid Gingersense 1.5. I have had literally 0 problems with it for over a month. However today, I tried to use my camera, and I get the camera symbol black screen for about 1 second, then it goes straight back to my homescreen. I cannot load the front facing camera (Mirror app) either. Help please!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    You could try flashing a newer rom, flashing the same rom over, or using the fix permissions option in recovery to see if any of those help fix the issue.
     
  3. TKDCaleb

    TKDCaleb Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011

    Jan 13, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    I tried fixing permissions. Didn't work. I will flash to a newer rom but I really want to avoid losing everything, Will I have to wipe to update?
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Well you will first use titanium backup to backup your user app data, then you will need to boot in recovery, make a backup, and do a factory reset, wipe cache, and wipe dalvik cache (if you want you can also format /system) then flash the new rom.

    After you boot up you can use titanium backup to restore the user app data. For system apps you can use other programs to back up copies of texts but for the other data it is best to just redo it to avoid causing more issues.
     
  5. Tboltfan25

    Tboltfan25 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    275
    8
    36
    NJ
    I don't want to Hijack this thread, but Yeahha, would restoring apps like Handcent data be an issue, like to get my texts back and stuff? or is even that risky?
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    No you know that if you use handcent to backup the the data and restore with handcent you are still using the same version to do the backup/restore or at least a close version.

    If you backup your texts using titanium on a stock rooted TB and try to restore on a say CM7 bolt the actual application could be very different and may cause issues. There is a "work around" using titanium to restore texts but I don't even bother because it seems like trial and error.

    Also handcent is a user app it shouldn't cause issues with anything in root because to the best of my knowledge it doesn't need superuser access
     
  7. stanlalee

    stanlalee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    194
    21
    38
    flash the camera fix in recovery theMikMik (single post http://themikmik.com/showthread.php...a-VIII-8-24-11&p=109884&viewfull=1#post109884 )

    I'm not sure if you have to register to the forum to download the zip or not but it should be on BAMF site somewhere (where it came from) as well.

    Happened to virtually EVERYBODY (some 2.3/Gtalk/camera bug that struck everybody on the same date), your a little late to the game. At least you werent about to take pics of a hot girl in your office like I was...or maybe you were lol. I had to go outside (better signal) download the fix, flash it and call her back in later lol. True story!
     
  8. dknees

    dknees Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    31
    2
    36
    Twin Cities, MN
    Went to take a pic a few days ago and noticed the same thing. (I'm on Gingeritis 3D). You do have to register to download the link, but it worked perfectly for me.
     
  9. stanlalee

    stanlalee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    194
    21
    38

Share This Page

Loading...