1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Camera screen goes black

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Cheezdemon, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. Cheezdemon

    Cheezdemon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, I recently got my very first smartphone, which is an LG Thrill. The first few times that I tried using the camera, it worked fine. But now whenever I try to use the camera, the screen goers black, and it take about 10-15 seconds before the phone will start responding anymore. Has anyone run into this problem with the Thrill, or any android device before? Thank you in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,592
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,592
    363
    273
    California
    haven't heard of this. Just turn your phone off and them back on. See if that'll help. If it doesn't, your still under the 30 day policy. Take it back and switch it. Welcome to the forums.
     
  3. jkzimm04

    jkzimm04 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have been having the same issue. I have had my phone less than a week now. It seemed to work fine at first and then if I would go into the camera, the screen would go blank and I had to manually pop out my battery and turn the phone back on. I called ATT tech support and he checked for updates, which there were none and then he walked me through restoring the factory settings and said that might work. NOPE. It did it to me again last night. This morning when I went to turn it on, I couldn't do it. I had to pop the battery out and then it started up after I put the battery back in. When I bought the phone, the sales rep couldn't get the phone to turn on. She thought the battery was low in charge. I doubt that very much now. I'm planning on taking it back tonight. We shall see!! Let us know how you make out!!
     
  4. Mind if I do a J?

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I'm also having this issue. It worked fine the first couple times I tried it, and the screen now goes blank/black. I'll be taking the phone to an AT&T store soon to see if they can do anything, and will be watching this thread for updates.

    The times I did use it, I took one 3D photo and one 3D video. Haven't done anything in 2D. Not sure if the 3D is a potential cause or not.

    Edit to add: The screen goes blank/black, but the phone doesn't appear to be completely dead. If I press on the home button twice within ten seconds or so, it usually takes me back to the main screens. Pretty weird, and definitely a bummer.
     
  5. maxpedro009

    maxpedro009 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011

    Oct 1, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I have also had this problem. It has happened to me 2X. I was trying to take a picture, and the screen just went blank. It was not in 3D mode either time. I wound up popping the battery out and turning it back on. I hope there is a solution to this. I am still within my 30 days, so I might try to get a different phone.
     
  6. Mind if I do a J?

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    For the record, that was my "solution" too. It's only happened once to me so far.
     
  7. jkeczan

    jkeczan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    A factory reset fixed mine. Most likely do to a conflicting app or memory issue, you can always true clearing the cameras cache and memory.
     
  8. PaBurlingame

    PaBurlingame Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014

    Sep 15, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    If I get around to it I will send my phone in, but in the mean time, I got the black screen of death recordings working somewhat back to normal, by changing my image properties to Contrast-high Brightness-high, and Hue-high. Also I changed my anti Flicker from Auto to 60Hz.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...