1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can a Vibrant be a WiFi hotspot?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fathom, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. Fathom

    Fathom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    I will be picking up my Vibrant in the morning and I am coming from and iPhone. I was wondering if there is an application similar to MyWi or if the phone can do it nativley?
     

    Advertisement

  2. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    176
    6
    36
    I assume you can do it because on the samsung websites "Galaxy S experience" it says you can, but t-mobile has taken out some features so im not positive.
     
  3. GAMERIG

    GAMERIG Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    40
    10
    38
    Dude, You can use Galaxy S via wifi without data nor Tmobile network require.. So you shouldn't have any problem. ;)
     
  4. mpw

    mpw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,143
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,143
    130
    143
    the past
    Not sure you've understood what the OPs asking; without Data or T-Mobile network, his phone isn't going to be a WiFi hotspot for other equipment, like a WiFi iPad.
     
  5. RaistlinMajere

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    Taxachusetts, USA
    If you root it, definitely
     
  6. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    maybe when the 2.2 update is aplied
     
  7. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    176
    6
    36
    If you look the the official galaxy s website it says it can be used as one...
     
  8. DKYang

    DKYang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    263
    19
    38
    FL
    Perhaps the original phone can, but the Vibrant cannot as of now without root access or 2.2 (if it's going to stay or T-mo will take it out).

    From the looks of it, rooting the Vibrant is very simple and one of the current versions of wifi tether works according to some users on xda.
     
  9. Fathom

    Fathom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Thank you! I guess I will have to root it then.
     
  10. GAMERIG

    GAMERIG Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    40
    10
    38
    What? Did I say that wifi hotspot? I have no clue what are yuou talking about.. I said wifi (i.e.) router.

    by the way I got SamDroid today and took a test.. it actually works wifi! I am sure Vibrant will connect wifi hotspot at coffee shop, airport, anywhere if wifi hotpot is available ..
     
  11. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    267
    14
    58
    You're definitely missing the point of the OP. He wants to use the phone as an Access Point, not with one. Tethering allows your phone to let your laptop get online through the phone's data plan.
     
  12. mpw

    mpw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,143
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,143
    130
    143
    the past
    Thanks, that confirms what I suspected ;)
     
  13. DKYang

    DKYang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    263
    19
    38
    FL
    It seems like the people at xda was wrong. None of the wifi tether app works with the Vibrant yet because of the slight modification to the kernel. So you will just have to a bit. Hopefully it won't be too long since that's the only reason why I would root the phone as of now.
     
  14. GalaxyS_Superphone112

    GalaxyS_Superphone112 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    Look for Mobile AP under settings then wireless thats the phones wifi tether app its simple and easy to use you dont need root and you dont have to wait for 2.2
     
  15. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    my girl bought a vibrant and i applied pda to it with no problems. works fine
     
  16. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    879
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    879
    69
    98
    actually if you outright by the vibrant or any google phone, for that matter, set up a google voice account, and where ever you have wifi connection you can call, recieve calls, and text as well. no monthly phone contract required. Though, the down side is that it does require wifi. but if you are at home or in the office alot, instant free unlimited call / text.
     
  17. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    try disbling your data connection and turning on your wifi. then make a google voice call, you will find out for sure then :)
     
  18. mpw

    mpw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,143
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,143
    130
    143
    the past
    That'll still only show that the phone is using a WiFi connection, which isn't what the OP was asking as I understand it; he wants to use his data connection on his phone to access the internet from his laptop via WiFi.
     
  19. indiemixer

    indiemixer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    I think Bigmerf was replying to Ghost.
     
    BiGMERF likes this.
  20. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    i most certainly was.. thank you
     
  21. mpw

    mpw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,143
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,143
    130
    143
    the past
    Oh, okay:thinking:
     
  22. howetechnical

    howetechnical Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    In addition to the other suggestions, you can simply root your device and use "Wireless Tether". Does exactly what you want it to do. I get between 5-7Mbps download and 1.3-1.5Mbps upload doing this in San Diego, connecting to it from my netbook.
     
  23. PlowRox

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    116
    4
    36
    Rock Mover
    Climax Kansas

    There is a world of difference between a "Galaxy S" and a "Galaxy S Vibrant"

    So not knowing what you have and assuming [hate that word] that you have a I9000 "Galaxy S" and not a "Galaxy S Vibrant" T959 that would see why its so confusing to people....regarding what features may or may not work.

    And no offense to everyone but I thought this was a Samsung Vibrant Forum , and how ever nice Your phone is, it's gonna be hard for "non" Samsung Vibrant" people to offer comments on how the "Samsung Vibrant" works runs and plays. I for one dont want help from any non Samsung Vibrant people...

    I try to help out on other parts of this web site but I really limit my comments to stuff thats very generic and certainly not "device specific"!

    Sorry I wandered off there ....

    Enjoy :)
    :rolleyes:
     
  24. howetechnical

    howetechnical Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    FYI: The Galaxy S (I9000) is very similar to the Vibrant in how it functions. Different carriers have made minor modifications, such as Verizon's Fascinate having flash, Sprint's Epic having a physical keyboard, and AT&T's Captivate being locked down tighter than a virgin with a chastity belt, but they all are mostly the same internally. WiFi is one of those things that is similar, and can be converted to a hotspot on all Galaxy S devices with root (possibly all without root once 2.2 is released).
     
  25. bootsie

    bootsie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    166
    17
    38
    using the Eugene Rom wireless tether was built into it. Works perfect. Connect up my WIFI Ipad on the road and can do all I need to do. Love it!
     

Share This Page

Loading...