1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Can a work computer (PC)

Discussion in 'Computers' started by dontpanicbobby, Jul 2, 2019.

  1. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby 100% That Guy
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    15,102
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    15,102
    9,486
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Be set to not allow downloads to mobile phones via a USB cable? Mind you you can download the file to the work PC but not transfer it over a cable.

    I know the answer is yes but I'm wondering how they did it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,862
    8,734
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    If your machine is part of a domain... Then they can use 'group policy' to push that setting with a 'group policy object'

    There are third party management suites that will do this in other ways... But if it was me.. thats how id do it
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,343
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,343
    40,219
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    ^^^ That's how we do it. Group policy. I also get notified by machine if a connection is attempted. I'm not so concerned about anyone stealing information, but more about preventing any nasty bits of code making their way onto our network.
     
    psionandy likes this.
  4. lvt

    lvt Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,699
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013

    Jan 30, 2013
    2,699
    1,269
    533
    Male
    Paris <--> Taipei
    You also can physically remove all USB ports :p
     
  5. rootabaga

    rootabaga Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,473
    Posts:
    7,623
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014

    Aug 11, 2014
    7,623
    28,011
    2,473
    More or less IT, lots of hand-holding
    Crazyville, CA
    Even if it's not on a domain GP can be set locally and used to enforce policies.

    In most cases you can also disable USB ports via BIOS.
     
    #5 rootabaga, Jul 2, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2019
    Davdi and lunatic59 like this.
  6. Davdi

    Davdi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,264
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    1,264
    712
    273
    Semi-retired developer
    The Shire
    And if you're especially worried/paranoid, you can unplug the USBs from the USB headers on the motherboard, or just cut the cables. Not forgetting to use decent locks on the PC cases.
    For the even more paranoid, fill the USB sockets with glue (hot melt glue guns work well - ask me how I know!).
    O
     
  7. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby 100% That Guy
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    15,102
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    15,102
    9,486
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Imon the opposite side of that @Davdi.
    My job removed my access to those options.
    I'm just a User; you know...
     
  8. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues Choose compassion over cruelty
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    6,833
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    6,833
    5,747
    1,063
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    So you want to be able to take files from the computer and put them on your phone? And you're blocked from doing that via USB cable? Is that correct?

    One word: AirDroid. There's no need to install anything on the computer; just use a web browser to connect to the phone.

    I don't belong here, in a window$ thread, so if I've totally misconstrued things, just tell me to take a hike. :eek: :D
     
    mikedt likes this.
  9. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby 100% That Guy
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    15,102
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    15,102
    9,486
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Yes
    The problem is the computer sees my cable and phone but I can no longer transfer files.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  10. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues Choose compassion over cruelty
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    6,833
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    6,833
    5,747
    1,063
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Okay, then my suggestion should work like a charm.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  11. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,488
    Posts:
    27,894
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,894
    17,547
    3,488
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Something I've had with AirDroid, and it may affect its use here as @dontpanicbobby is in a work environment? Some WiFi does not allow devices to communicate directly with each other. Home WiFi is usually OK, but corporate, public, hotel, etc. WiFi often doesn't. AirDroid requires that devices and computers to be able to communicate directly with each other via the WiFi for direct transfers.

    You'll know when you scan the AirDroid QR code...
    airdroid.png
    This was on hotel WiFi. and both my phone and Macbook were definitely connected to the same WiFi AP

    AirDroid will still work if you do login to an AirDroid account, but any file transfers are uploaded to AirDroid's servers and then downloaded again to the other device or computer over the internet, and NOT directly device to computer.
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...