1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can anyone tell me how to clear my dalvik cache on my Desire??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by romey2000, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. romey2000

    romey2000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    Toronto
    my ph
     

    Advertisement

  2. adz63

    adz63 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    442
    13
    38
    Berkshire, England
    turn phone off >power on by holding power and back button > wait til screen turns on >press power (quick tap ) volume down to recovery press power>scroll to wipe and press then scroll to wipe dalvik and press trackball to confirm . then press back button and press reboot system

    or if you have it on your phone long hold power til options come up and select recovery then scroll to wipe and press then scroll to wipe dalvik and press trackball to confirm . then press back button and press reboot system
     
  3. empireurn

    empireurn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    hi, my phone's not rooted so i can't access recovery mode - phone locks when i select it. Is there another way of clearing it? I can't send text messages since upgrade and am told this may help resolve the problem.. Thankyou
     
  4. adz63

    adz63 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    442
    13
    38
    Berkshire, England
    if you have titanium back up use that open app, press menu , press more, select clean up the dalvik cache

    if you dont have it , its free on market
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Titanium backup is root only. You can use it to backup using temp root with visionary+ but as dalvik needs to reboot to be cleared and temp root is lost at reboot, I dont think this will work.

    Happy to be proved wrong on that though.

    The only way to clear dalvik cache on an unrooted device I know is to factory reset.

    However, OTA upgrades often go wrong and a factory reset will probably fix anyway.
     
  6. adz63

    adz63 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    442
    13
    38
    Berkshire, England
    yeah i just realized that su lol im having a blonde day

    was about to edit post saying that
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...