1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can G2 be converted - Desire Z HSDPA 850/1900?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GorDog, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. GorDog

    GorDog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Mortgage & Real Estate - Recovering Softerware
    San Diego/Tijuana
    The Desire Z has UMTS (850-1900) that is used in Mexico TelCel for 3G

    Can I burn a different ROM into my G2 and have it get these frequencies?

    GENERAL (Desire Z)
    2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    3G Network HSDPA 900 / 2100
    HSDPA 850 / 1900 - North America

    GENERAL (T-Mobile G2)
    2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    3G Network HSDPA 1700 / 2100


    I can not seem to find a good Desire Z for sale (people try and sell the G2 as the Desire and they are wrong)

    So since I have a G2 can it be flashed/rooted or whatever so that it gets the

    HDSPA/3G/UMTS 850/1900 band so I can get 3G data in Mexico with TelCel?
     

    Advertisement

  2. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    192
    17
    38
    Los Angeles, CA
    Check out the dev threads over at xda. There is tons of stuff. Radio images, custom roms, based on G2 or DZ. Pretty sure you will find your answer over there.
     
    GorDog likes this.
  3. Joe Dirt

    Joe Dirt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    514
    103
    93
    work for the man.
    TEXAS
    No, its a hardware thing not software, you will be stuck on edge. Best bet is to buy the DZ.
     
    GorDog likes this.
  4. GorDog

    GorDog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Mortgage & Real Estate - Recovering Softerware
    San Diego/Tijuana
    Thanks. I was worried this might be the case.

    I'll read the other persons suggestions anyways and follow that lead.

    Sucks, cause here in San Diego, I can find all kinds of G2's and I'm currently using one. Got it for $200 on CraigsList. Works great with T-Mobiles MySimpleMobile $60 a month pay as you go plan! :) Not as good of coverage as Verizon.. but for half the price.. I'll live with it until I can afford to use the LTE network.

    But Girlfriend wants a phone. We've been tryin the MyTouch Slide 3g with mixed results and lost texts, but it doesn't have the right UMTS either and it is just 2G.

    So if I'm going to buy another one.. I want it to work.

    Droid 2 Global is another option according to my search on Gsmarena.com

    I'm hopping I can just burn a custom rom onto a G2 if I can't find a "true" Z.
     
  5. GorDog

    GorDog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Mortgage & Real Estate - Recovering Softerware
    San Diego/Tijuana
    Link? for a newbie????
     
  6. Joe Dirt

    Joe Dirt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    514
    103
    93
    work for the man.
    TEXAS
  7. GorDog

    GorDog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Mortgage & Real Estate - Recovering Softerware
    San Diego/Tijuana
    Thanks. I searched and tried different words and came up with nothing over there.

    So... I guess it is back to the drawing board, since I am not paying $500 for a phone.
     
  8. GorDog

    GorDog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Mortgage & Real Estate - Recovering Softerware
    San Diego/Tijuana
    Found an awesome Desire Z on ebay. Got it yesterday and was able to get 3G with no problems.

    But the issues with the TEXT messages persists.

    So, I'm thinking it is her older V3.0 SIM card?

    TelCel has a much newer SIM v5.0 (maybe v5.1) that is better suited to the newer GSM 3G phones and allows online banking and some other small advantages.

    I've got to believe at this point with three phones.. is that it is a SIM issue. And not a PHONE issue.

    Never assume.. but could the HTC phones be an issue with Mexico TelCel???

    Is their some difference in the SIM cards they use?

    I'm praying that if we buy a new brand new SIM tomorrow it will work.

    It's a weird one for sure. #$%^#$%^ //...}{}{{ messages like that or blank.. she can receive just fine... it is sending only.

    FRED (freaking rediculous electronic devices!!!) It is a wonder they work at all when you really think about it.
     
  9. Joe Dirt

    Joe Dirt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    514
    103
    93
    work for the man.
    TEXAS
    It could be your APN settings. I have no idea what they need to be setup for telcel. I would ask at xda lots of really smart people.
     
  10. GorDog

    GorDog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Mortgage & Real Estate - Recovering Softerware
    San Diego/Tijuana
    Nope. APN has nothing to do with Text Messaging.

    Friend of mine who is a big wig at Qualcomm is here today and was just explaining to me that the APN is for data.

    Text messaging is on a much older and simpler frequency and has nothing to do with APN. We talked about the SIM. And said that a bad SIM could very well be the problem. Something on the SIM get's verified and the text message some how gets authenticated by the SIM.

    So.. today we try and get a new SIM and see if that works.

    I also know that the APN's are correct.. cause we get WiFi no problem. She was sitting at an outdoor Taco Shop in East Tijuana last night and we could talk and use a chat program LiveProfile no problem. So data is not an issue.

    The problem is isolated to texting.. and it is getting corrupted somehow.

    Thanks to all in these communities. This problem with her phone made me read up on my phone and learned a lot.
     
  11. atreju

    atreju Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have a desire z working fiine with telcel in mex. Even the mms works good. The only issue that i cant config properly is the 3g, i can conect using edge. I already check the apn but i cant connect in 3g mode
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...