1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can I change the location of the default host file?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tyseyh, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    Good evening boys and girls.
    As far as I understand programmes like Adaway or ADfree work by editing the host file under system/host.
    The thing is those programme won't do so with me because I am not S-Off.
    ADaway gives me the option to use hosts that are in a different location.

    How would I set the location?
    Or more importantly how do I actually manage to get a Ad remover app to work?

    I had one which I could flash but that's old now and missing the newer ads.

    Anyone have any suggestions?
    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Just use Adfree, it has a symlink to /data option. This is what you want.
     
    Tyseyh likes this.
  3. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    I tried that before, didn't work.
    Will try it again.
    Cheers dude.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It should symlink it to /data/data/com.bigtincan.android.adfree/hosts
     
  5. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    Says it has worked, would that remove ads from apps too yeah.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    should do, if the ads are not hardcoded.

    Test it by turning off internet connection, if apps still appear, no hosts file will help
     
  7. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    Seems to work just fine. Thank you ( Again )
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...