1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can I convert from UMTS 900 to UMTS 850?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by milaez, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. milaez

    milaez Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Hi,
    I have a regular i7500 which runs on UMTS 900/1700/2100, I was wandering if it is possible to convert the phone to be compatible with UMTS 850 as this is the frequency australias "Telstra NextG" works on?

    My phone details are as follows:

    Firmware version: Galaxo 1.6.3.3
    Baseband version: I7500XEJC4
    Kernal version: 2.6.29-bfs302-drakaz-galaxo-light drakaz@PC #44
    Build number: Donut.XEJC6

    cheers in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kamala

    Kamala Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    74
    7
    16
    BEG, SER
    I think that I read somewhere that you can convert 850 to 900, but not sure in your case.
     
  3. milaez

    milaez Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    5
    0
    5

    Hey Kamala, do you remember where you read this?
     
  4. Shorrack

    Shorrack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    45
    17
    38
    Finland
  5. Willd

    Willd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    16
    1
    16
    It won't work with just flashing an australian baseband..

    It involves some really advanced tools and techniques that are not publicly available and probably not even tested..
     
  6. milaez

    milaez Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    can you please elaborate?
     
  7. milaez

    milaez Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I suppose what I'm really asking is:

    Does the frequency availability (UMTS 900 or UMTS 850) rely on soley the hardware? Or can this be changed through software such as changing the baseband to that of an i7500L (which uses UMTS 850)? or flashing the radio componant?
     
  8. Willd

    Willd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    16
    1
    16
    It MAY be reflashable using proprietary (but available) tools from Qualcomm, but I doubt you want to get into that..
     
  9. Cougar

    Cougar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #581
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    420
    16
    38
    Geek
    Lancashire, England
    My understanding was that it was a hardware restriction. I don't know for sure, but in ten years or so of having and playing with mobile phones I don't recall ever seeing one you could change the frequency bands.
     

Share This Page

Loading...