1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Can I delete the 2.1 file?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by keg, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. keg

    keg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I apologize if this has already been asked and answered. Obviously I'm new here and not real sure how the search function goes.

    Anyway, can I delete the 2.1 file off my SD card once it's installed on my phone? If so, what's the easiest way to do that.

    Thanks in advance for your help and I'll try to refrain from any further stupid questions.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wilceaux

    wilceaux Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    70
    9
    16
    Austin, TX
    I don't see why not.
    That being said, I haven't deleted mine. LOL

    You can either hook it up to a computer and mount the SD card, or you can use a file explorer such as Astro or ES File Manager, and delete it from the Eris.
     
  3. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    Yes, you can.
     
  4. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    The .zip is there so that your phone can install it.

    It doesn't use the file after you're done installing.
     
  5. keg

    keg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks for the help everyone. I deleted it via Astro and all is well.
     
  6. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California
    It's all its used for is to flash the new OS, once you've done that.. its worthless to you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...