1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can I do anything to expand the memory on this device?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xrae, Mar 31, 2011.

  1. xrae

    xrae Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    146
    9
    36
    Female
    I'm in my second week of using the Optimus V as my full-time phone and I'm already running into "out of space" warnings on a regular basis.

    I don't have that many extra apps downloaded, and I've moved all those I can over to the SD card. I have around 100 text messages stored (after deleting a bunch today) and use gmail instead of the included mail app. I use Stitcher to stream some podcasts and music. Does that cache to the phone perhaps?

    I'm not interested in rooting the phone.

    What, if anything, can I do to increase space?

    Is this typical Android behavior, or mostly this model?

    Thanks ....
     

    Advertisement

  2. lou61166

    lou61166 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    537
    56
    98
    Male
    PC Tech Owner Affordable computer repair.
    New Jersey
    I had the same issue,was clearing the cache all the time,i did not want to root the phone either, but after rooting it and paying for an app called Titanium backup i have not any any memory issues, it lets you delete and free up space of thing you would not be able to with a non rooted phone.
     
  3. kc3

    kc3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    129
    4
    36
    US
    Yeah or you can install a ROM that's capable of moving any app to the sd card or you can partition for sd card and install Link2SD to put any app on the SD card including it's cache. Both of these methods require rooting.
     
  4. xrae

    xrae Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    146
    9
    36
    Female
    Well I really don't want to void my warranty, having had the phone just three weeks. But this space issue is infuriating for sure.

    Any other options? There's no way to free memory without rooting the phone?
     
  5. aldamon

    aldamon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    95
    19
    18
    Durham, NC
    No. Most of your memory is being taken by the bloatware in the ROM. I have 70MB free with no programs moved to the SD Card.
     
  6. xrae

    xrae Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    146
    9
    36
    Female
    Wow, sounds like this phone is the equivalent to an HP laptop. :p

    Thanks.
     
  7. Silenus

    Silenus Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I believe all Android phones suffer from HP Laptop syndrome. :/ :)
     
  8. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    If you are rooted and want more memory, you can move the dalvik to cache. I did this a few days ago and so far have not had any problems. Follow the link below to read more on it. This gave me about 60 megs more memory. The only drawback I've found so far is it will replace the LG boot screen with the Sprint boot screen and takes a little longer to boot.


    Optimus V -- Dalvik cache to /cache
     
  9. kc3

    kc3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    129
    4
    36
    US
    I think every good option to solve this problem requires a rooted phone lol
     
  10. ravenas

    ravenas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    144
    32
    43
    Am I not understanding this correctly?

    I installed Android Assistant (to control the boot audio) and have a Quick Boost button on my monitor screen. It allows me to free up used memory. So now I am using 156.82MB but have 267.52 free. I can also kill apps on command with the Processes tab.

    I've also been able to move most of my downloaded apps to my SD card just within Settings/Applications/Manage Applications. There's an option to move to SD for many of my downloaded apps: Kindle, Nook, Evernote, Amazon, Google Sky Maps, Angry Birds, etc.

    I've been worried about maxing out my space but so far no warnings.

    Am I doing something you guys aren't? Or are you noticing things I don't? I haven't been able to move the VM bloatware apps (Twidroid, Poynt, Virgin Mobile Live... who needs that?!) but my memory seems to be working ok.
     
  11. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    Do you have your music and everything else on your SD card?

    I am aware that i have a lot less storage on the internal memory of this phone than I did on my incredible, but i still have 30 or so apps on here, a handful on SD, and space to spare.

    Maybe one/some is generating a ton of data, images, maps, something?
     
  12. young707

    young707 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    In brief, if I am not rooting my new mobile at this time, I cannot move app to SD card, right?

    Also, I cannot delete useless bulky stuff like, AllShare & ThinkFreeOffice, to make room, without rooting?

    But where is the text file created by "Memo" that I can move to SD card?

    According to spec, my new Samsung Galaxy GT-i5800 has only 166MB of build in memory. No wonder, after just around 20 apps, its full. In particular, the "Angry Bird" games takes up lots of space.
     
  13. lou61166

    lou61166 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    537
    56
    98
    Male
    PC Tech Owner Affordable computer repair.
    New Jersey
    I think your posting in the wrong section of this forum,This is the virgin mobile optimus v section.
     
  14. young707

    young707 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Samsung Galaxy Android 2.1 are basically the same OS and basic hardware, or not?
     
  15. lou61166

    lou61166 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    537
    56
    98
    Male
    PC Tech Owner Affordable computer repair.
    New Jersey
    The OS in the lg optimus v is 2.2.1 the Hardware and firmware no,the firmware is for the particular service provider,the bloatware they add is different,so there is nothing in common between these 2 android phone.
     
  16. jj2me

    jj2me Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #610
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    161
    29
    43
    Is there any way to uninstall a paid-for app, then somehow reload it later when/if needed?

    In PDA days, you just needed to tap in the key after a re-install. (The key was tied to your PDA's username and device type.) Anything similar for Android? Or does the place of purchase (Android Market or Amazon Appstore) simply remember your rights to purchased apps for eternity, like Amazon (and similar) does for Kindle (and other format) ebooks.

    This may be germane to many of us who have downloaded the similar apps Shazam and Soundhound from Amazon on the days when they were free. Delete one, but maybe in 6 months the other has a marvelous update that makes it better, so swap them.
     
  17. xrae

    xrae Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    146
    9
    36
    Female
    @ravenas & @lizm

    I went through every installed app yesterday and just have several that I use that need to stay on the phone for whatever reason, including 3 Twitter apps (Twitdroyd -- which we're all stuck with, Plume, & Tweetcaster, because I'm trying to decide between the two).

    The Facebook app is 8.68mb and is on the phone (any good alternatives to that? Something that can be moved to SD card?)
     
  18. nexgenasian

    nexgenasian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    60
    2
    16
    programmer
    Hi,

    I was looking with Elixir and found that the phone has 110 Megabytes of Rom set aside for the Cache partition (not cache for browser and stuff right? but probably for update and market installs I think) and that's way more space then necessary. Can I repartition my internal memory so that data get an extra 50 megs of that cache?
     
  19. ravenas

    ravenas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    144
    32
    43
    Yeah, dump Facebook entirely. Seriously hate that service. Who willingly posts so much personal information including known contacts to a service with such horrible privacy terms.

    Oh... you wanted a helpful response. ;) Sorry I'm new to this world. Haven't found any decent Facebook alternatives that work. I do have it on my phone (Ok I don't share as much as stalk my family occasionally) but moved everything else that wasn't nailed down to the SD card. Also upgraded to a 16GB MicroSD card today. I want to upload some videos to watch on the road.

    My memory usage seems fine, for now.
     
  20. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    Yes. Your paid for status is tied to your gmail account so as long as you use the same one you're good. This is my second Droid phone and i had no trouble downloading the paid apps I had on my old one from the market to the new one.
     
  21. MrTweaker

    MrTweaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    76
    7
    16
    Remington, MD
    I uninstalled my Facebook app and just use the mobile site on Skyfire. Works just about as good and saves a lot of precious phone memory.
     
  22. xrae

    xrae Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    146
    9
    36
    Female
    I cannot get Facebook Mobile (m.facebook.com) to work on Opera Mobile -- the comment buttons won't respond when I try to click them. I got it to work maybe once out of 50 tries. So ... either I'll ditch Opera in favor of another browser, or .... who knows.

    Tried Seesmic but it doesn't have the support for Facebook pages that I need. It won't let me use a FB page as the page itself -- any comments I make show from my personal account instead of the page. So Seesmic is out, too.
     
  23. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    I don't use Twitter, but aren't there any Twitter apps that can be moved to your SD card?
     
  24. nexgenasian

    nexgenasian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    60
    2
    16
    programmer

    I found some article about link2sd. Requires root i suppose and repartitioning

    link2sd install - Google Search

    Helped me out of a jam since the V only has 170 for install space.

    I did find a solution about using the cache as your dalvik-cache space, but it seemed a bit dangerous. doing so may free up 50 megs though.

    davlik to cache - Google Search
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...